We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs M Penzance”
Review of Renaissance - CLOSED

Renaissance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are a family run establishment, offering a warm welcome, exceptional food and fantastic service.Our menus offer a variety of dishes starting with breakfast through to light snacks, pizza, burgers and steaks, theirs something for every one.We have a childs menu offering dishes such as sausage and mash to fish and chips.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs M Penzance”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch on a very wet miserable day in February. New Owner and staff very polite and welcoming. Both of us had the Renaissance Burgers. Gorgeous! Very filling without breaking the bank. Would definitely recommend to anyone. They mentioned that they do 'special nights'. Unfortunately can't make their Valentine Special but will definitely be keeping an eye on their website for others.

Helpful?
Thank cervelo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissancePenzance, Owner at Renaissance, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear Mrs M Penzance
Thank you for your comments regarding our food and our service here at Renaissance. So far the changes that we have made have been well received and im glad you also enjoyed your experience. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you next time you visit us hopefully when the weather is better!!!!!

Matthew Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good lunch!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We called in here as we knew it had changed hands, the staff were very friendly & pleasant. The views are great and the restaurant looks much cleaner & more airy. Food was lovely, espcially the chips which were chunky hand cut ones! Worth a visit for these alone. We will be back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrTHelston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissancePenzance, Owner at Renaissance, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you MrTHelston for your review, our new chunky hand cut chips certainly are going down a storm. Its good to see the changes are positive. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Matthew Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great view!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I visited Renaissance cafe recently after it is now under new management. The menu is varied with a nice selection of dishes. The service and atmoshere was friendly, prompt and relaxed. The food and portions/prices reasonable and tasty. The view from the table by the large windows is one of the best over the harbour/bay. Worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 129caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissancePenzance, Owner at Renaissance, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you 129caroline for your review on tripadvisor.
We believe the view here is fantastic as well, thank you for the kind comments we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Matthew Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great restaurant for any time of day”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

fantastic harbourside setting. lovely cinnamon teacakes for breakfast, extensive choices for lunch/dinner...burgers are to die for. very friendly

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissancePenzance, Owner at Renaissance, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you Sandi f for your comments.
Our 100% beef burgers are very tasty and popular coupled with the fantastic veiws over St Micheals mount, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Matthew Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic T-Bone!! Best in Cornwall”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Having noticed Renaissance was under new management we decided to give it another go! We are so glad we did 5 of us decided to try there new T-Bone Steak and I must say it was the best steak ive had in Cornwall by a long way....

You Must Try!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissancePenzance, Owner at Renaissance, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you Anthony H for your review.
Im glad you enjoyed your T bones here at Renaissance and to hear that they were that good is fantastic. Thank you once again.

Matthew Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Renaissance also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing