We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To-Days Special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance

Renaissance
Ranked #31 of 178 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family run establishment, offering a warm welcome, exceptional food and fantastic service.Our menus offer a variety of dishes starting with breakfast through to light snacks, pizza, burgers and steaks, theirs something for every one.We have a childs menu offering dishes such as sausage and mash to fish and chips.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“To-Days Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife & I have been going to the Renaissance since the new people opened, for coffee we fined there flat white to be the best in town, And the views across the harbour to The Mount are wonderful even better if the sea is rough.
On this day we decided to have Lunch I had Megram with home mad chips bread butter & pot of tea. my wife had haddock chips pot tea bread butter, both meals were Huge and Good value for money.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, we recommend this café to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    57
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penzance
1 review
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch with my husband. We shared a lovely spicy pizza. Ordered a huge one but had to eat it all because it was so nice. Friendly staff. Would recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minorca, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Value with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Dropped in for lunch on a wet and windy Saturday in Penzance. Brilliant view across the harbour watching an angry sea and enjoyed simple, tasty food. Fish pie was huge, although consisted mainly of salmon, but pleased a hungry husband! No pretensions to grandeur, just reasonably priced food. Good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qualityspy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good bacon sarnie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Popped in for coffee but we were tempted by the bacon sandwich which was delicious. We asked for our bacon to be well done and it was. Good coffee and, of course, lovely view of the bay. Staff were friendly and attentive. Have eaten here often at lunchtime and at night - no complaints.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wanted a good lunch and a good view, but only got the good view. We were told the food would take 15 min, but it took 25 minutes. The service was not very good. We could not get the waitresses' attention even when it came to pay the bill. There were not many customers so there seemed no reason for the delays. I had asked about the afternoon tea which was advertised inside and outside was told in fact it was not available, which in hindsight was fine as we would not be coming back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Renaissance also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing