We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday park and ideal base for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Praa Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We currently stayed here for a week in 'The Dunes', The caravan was very clean and well equipped and the staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds of the holiday park are well maintained and the beach is a few minutes walk away (not to mention the beach restaurant does the best fish and chips!). We didn't use the clubhouse for eating and drinking so can't comment on that but we did use the swimming pool, sauna, spa pool and gym on a daily basis, which were all great. The only thing i would have liked would be for the swimming pool to be open earlier and close later :)

We had a car so it proved to be an ideal base for us, as there are so many lovely places near by - St Ives, Lands End, Sennan Cove, Lizard Peninsula, Mullion, Marazion, Newquay are some of the places we managed to see whilst staying there. It was our first time in Cornwall and we would love to return another time. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Customer_Services, Customer Relations at Praa Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in late August and were blessed with sun all week! We found the accommodation and site facilities to be excellent. There was a band playing in the clubhouse on the Saturday when we arrived which was a pleasant surprise. The pool and gym were fantastic and we used them every day. Holiday lets appear to be in the minority however this makes for a nice laid back atmosphere. If you are located at the top of the site the walk to the beach is OK although a little far if you're carrying all your beach gear. I cycled it a couple of times and there are some nice little hill climbs. We definitely will think about going back. It's a great base for exploring if you have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mart2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Customer_Services, Customer Relations at Praa Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned home after 5 days at praa sands. The caravan park is beautiful and couldn't be any cleaner! We used the bar a couple of times but sat out due to having our dog. It is a shame well behaved dogs can't go in for a swift half as had the weather have been awful we wouldn't have gone at all. We stayed in 38 the dunes which was lovely clean and comfortable. My only gripe if I were to have one was WiFi access!!! It should be free which would make things easier as we had a few issues. A huge thank you to Dave on reception for sorting it out on many occasions, he was very helpful and as my daughter pointed out "what a happy friendly man!!!!" Would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealedwithakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Customer_Services, Customer Relations at Praa Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My girlfriend and I have recently returned from a seven nights stay at the Praa Sands resort near Helston, Cornwall. Firstly, we are unsure as to why it is classed as Penzance as Praa Sands is approximately eight miles away (thankfully) and the two places are completely different in comparison so if you are not a fan of Penzance, don't let this deter you!

To start with, our caravan (if you call it a caravan) was fantastic in every way and ticked every single box. It was extremely spacious, very clean, had excellent facilities and was in a perfect location on the site. The shower in the bathroom deserves a special mention as it was better than many showers that I have used previously as it was large in size (a double shower), was easy to use, had a seat inside and the pressure was fantastic. The double bedroom was very spacious, had numerous extra pillows, lots of storage and even had an en-suite toilet attached which was useful. The kitchen and lounge areas were also well equipped and on arrival it was like stepping into a brand new caravan. All the caravans on the site appear to be individually owned and are different in size and layout etc. The caravan that my girlfriend and I stayed in was called ‘Le Shed’ and this is described as a Gold Caravan Plus on the site.

The location of this site itself is excellent as it is approximately a five minute walk from the beach and there is a small shop and post office en-route. The beach is massive and although my girlfriend and I were lucky to have lovely weather, we would never have considered it overcrowded and there was loads of space for everyone. The beach itself is very well maintained and is clean to swim in.

There is a large bar on the site that has a basic pub style menu that we would recommend going for a few pre-evening drinks but unfortunately it was lacking atmosphere due to it being so quiet. It was very surprising to see the bar so quiet as it was large in size and appeared to be very clean and reasonably priced but there was never more than a handful of people inside. Additionally there is a lovely seating area outside that looks across the beach below. The swimming pool and gym areas are small in size and this was slightly off-putting for my girlfriend and I so we only used the pool on one occasion, we were also surprised that the pool hours were only 0900 – 1800 hrs on most days.

Lastly, unless you are on Vodafone there is no mobile phone signal on the site and I had none (Orange) throughout the whole stay. This isn’t a major issue however as you are on holiday after all and the signal returns as soon as you leave the site. It is a small price to pay for being in an excellent location!

Overall we would recommend Praa Sands to anyone and would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: 'Le Shed' Any caravan at the bottom of site in 'the Dunes' area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Customer_Services, Customer Relations at Praa Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and was very happy with the accommodation and facilities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for a week a few weeks ago and it is our second trip to cornwall in only the last few months. We came down to this part of Cornwall for a weekend, loved what we saw and booked at this park for a week to get some more.

The park itself is lovely. Immaculately kept grass and plants are everywhere with amazing seaviews. And our van, while basic, was perfectly clean inside. Our only gripe was that we had to wait over an hour to check in. Check in is advertised at 4pm but our chalet wasn't available until after 5pm. Not great after 6+ hours in the car!

Inside the main building is a swimming pool and bar. The swimming pool is very small, quite dirty and didn't have much to entertain our children. We noticed that it does seem to be closed quite often for various reasons. The reception staff where always nice and friendly though and 1 of the older staff (Beverley?) would frequently make a fuss of our children when we visited.

Trying to do a holiday family on a budget we mostly ate in our chalet and made packed lunches for our afternoon's out. We did have drinks and food in the bar on a couple of occasions and I have to say it couldn't be more varied.

We went in on 1 afternoon for some breakfast and we were eventually served (5 minutes+ wait!) by a young, tall man in what seemed to be his regular clothing. He took our order in a hugely disinterested fashion and didn't say please or thankyou once. I think he would have rather been anywhere than there that day. The food came out quite a while later even though the place seemed empty. Clearly they had been busy as some of the tables where piled up with dirty dishes and glasses - they remained for the entirety of our visit. The food we got wasn't very good and 1 part of the order was completely wrong. We didn't complain as we couldn't be bothered standing at an unmanned bar waiting ages for somebody to come to us again.

A bit later on we went for a swim and then went to the bar (which had staff and had been cleaned!) to ask about the WIFI. Paul (again, not very friendly) spoke to us and explained that the WIFI is free to bar customers and gave us vouchers along with our drinks. We sat outside for a while before I went back in for a few more things for the kids. Again I waited about 5 minutes before going out to reception to find some staff. They said that he was probably smoking and somebody from reception came back to the bar to serve me. We shouldn't really have to wait or chase around looking for staff.

Later on the week they had a quiz advertised so we all went down for that. How can 1 place be so different?! The food was amazing, the staff where all very friendly and attentive (the young girls on the bar and the man doing the quiz) and there was a real buzz about the place which by 8pm had really filled up with people. The service in most places suffers when they get busy but here it gets 10X better. Our only gripe is that the quiz seemed a bit hard but we think that's us rather than them!

All in all for accommodation we were very happy but we felt the facilities, whilst nice and modern, let the rest of the park down somewhat. The reception staff where all very pleasant and helpful and most of the bar staff were wonderful. Maybe those staff should teach good, prompt and friendly service to the 2 grumpy bar staff we encountered at the beginning of the week?

We would stay again but we would be wary of using the bar and restaurant again unless there's something on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacLee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Praa sands is an excellent well laid out park. Most owners are very pleasant, but this is a veneer
The problem mentioned in one review concerned the lounge and the attitude of golf club members who really do believe that the bar and resturant is run for their benifit. When they have a function on or are using the lounge in numbers they go out of their way to make you feel like an intruder.
Owners and holidaymakers pay through the nose for these facilities, probaly more than the golfers, and have a right to use them without duress. Seeing the manager laughing and joking with golfers does not auger well for the future. In fact he seems to more concerned with fostering good relations with them rather than the owners
The banning of children from the hot tub, I feel is more to do with regulars not wanting them using it but the hygiene factor is used. I sympathise with this but not when Haulfryn staff do not follow the showering protocol.
The 'Free WiFi' is also a blatant con. It is so weak that it is impossible to use two devices at once in the caravan or in the clubhouse. The solution offered is to pay over the odds for a slightly faster connection much lower than the local touring site offer for less cost. Really inexcusable in 2013 when fibre connection is available nearby.
Haulfyn must realise that if it wishes to make money it MUST give value for that money,
OWNER>

Room Tip: Book with Hoseseasons and have a comeback
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Customer_Services, Customer Relations at Praa Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome the golfers. we are currently working and soon they will have a seperate area for there functions. The banning of children in the hot tub is for health and safety reasons and nothing else although we are also looking into changing this rule so children can use the hot tob whilst accompanied by an adult. The Wi Fi may have had some problems with connection on that particular day but on a day to day basis our Wi-Fi in the complex should be good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed here previously and were amazed at the luxury of the units. The quality of everything made our stay even more enjoyable. A short walk to the beach, relaxing atmosphere, not overcrowded and a fantastic beach cafe (Beachcomber Cafe) that serves a great, all day breakfast that you can enjoy whilst looking out to sea. Looking forward to our next stay from 31st August 2013.

Room Tip: Book early as these are snapped up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS_Customer_Services, Customer Realations at Praa Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward yo seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
8.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
River Valley Country Park
River Valley Country Park
#1 of 20 in Penzance
432 reviews
11.7 mi away
Portreath Arms
Portreath Arms
#3 of 3 in Portreath
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
56 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praa Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praa Sands Holiday Park

Address: Praa Sands, Penzance TR20 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Penzance
Price Range: £43 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Praa Sands Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praa Sands Holiday Park in Cornwall offers amazing luxury holiday homes with fantastic facilities including an indoor swimming pool, gym, spa, 9 hole golf course and bar & restaurant all just a few minutes walk from a sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Praa Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praa Sands Holiday Park Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing