We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top B&B”
Review of Sophia's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophia's B&B
Ranked #27 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Derby
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top B&B”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A great B&B with a fabulous and very helpful host. Yes it is small and caters for few people but is as described. Our room, Zelah, was large enough for us and our motorcycle gear and luggage, with a great view and a large en-suite bathroom with an excellent walk in shower. Nicely decorated, very comfy, very clean, excellent views and an unbeatable breakfast. There is a lot of choice for breakfast all cooked fresh. What more do you need? We sat talking to Lynne as she prepared breakfast and throughly enjoyed it, so much so we moved our table on the second day to do the same. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only four rooms, two with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkbait53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Will keep this review short and brief as there's not much to add other than highly recommend and lovely! Warm welcome on arrival a lovely coffee one of which is one of the best I've had. Was then shown into the room which was a double and en suite amazing decor throughout comfortable and pleasant experience. Location is ideal too not far from local town centre, railway station and yours highly recommend. Oh and breakfast was amazing!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeeGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've stayed at this wonderful cosy B&B on Easter holidays and both really enjoyed our time in Penzance! Our room was bright and nicely decorated with a very modern en-suite bathroom. Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the seaside view as the room was on the ground floor and we had to keep the blinds closed all the time. Our host was wonderful and gave us some great advice on where to go in the area. Great breakfast in a friendly relaxed atmosphere adds up to a good experience. All in all, great value for your money: perfect location, tasty food, the most comfortable bed ever and a nice host. What else to want from B&B?
On the down side I can only point out that as our room was right next to the dining room we couldn't really sleep after 7:30 - 8 a.m. as first people went down to have their breakfast. So If you like to stay in bed for longer in the morning, definitely try to book in advance so you can have a room upstairs!

Room Tip: Unfortunately we've booked our room too late so had the smallest one in B&B, I suggest askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent two nights at Sophia's B&B on the promenade in Penzance in September 2013. Lynne was very welcoming and the room was beautifully decorated. We particuarly liked the lovely window seat with wonderful views of the sea and across to St Michael's Mount. The breakfast was delicious and Lynne was happy to cook a number of different options. Lynne was also very accommodating in allowing us store our bikes in the back yard and checking out late. We were so impressed by our stay that I felt compelled to write my first review for Tripadvisor. We will be back soon, I hope.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent two nights here prior to commencing our LEJOG bike ride. Lyn was warm and welcoming, and our room was just lovely, offering gorgeous seaside views. I particularly enjoyed stretching myself out on the window seat watching the ocean.

The bed was very comfortable and the room well appointed. The bathroom facilities were modern and large.

The breakfast was yummy and devoured with gratitude. We enjoyed chatting to other guests.

Lyn tried really hard to cater for us and given the fact we arrived with two large bike boxes and bikes I think we were very fortunate.

Many thanks Lyn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We enjoyed our 3 day stay. Our room was pleasant and spacious with a great view of the sea. Good location for touring around the Cornwall area. Lynne is hard working, friendly, helpful and a good breakfast cook. We weren't concerned about the cozy breakfast room. B@Bs are not spacious hotels which is why we use them. Very happy to recommend Sophia's to those looking for a comfortable place in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at Sophia's for four nights leading up to August Bank Holiday and we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. It's in an excellent location with wonderful sea views (free parking outside the B&B too!). Our room ('Mylor') was lovely ... spacious, with a huge, very comfy bed and fantastic walk-in shower in the nicely appointed bathroom ... and a nice window seat in our room on which to admire views of Newlyn and/or St Michaels Mount! We were made generous, tasty breakfasts - lots of choice - and Lynne (the owner) was really helpful ... a very pleasant, welcoming lady who is extremely knowledgable about Penzance and surrounding areas and West Cornwall in general. We had a wonderful long weekend and wouldn't hesitate to return to Sophia's

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suereview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
1.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rosalie Guest House
Rosalie Guest House
#23 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#16 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#71 of 81 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.1 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#20 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophia's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia's B&B

Property: Sophia's B&B
Address: Promenade | Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophia's B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sophia's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia's B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing