We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience !”

Western Discoveries Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 7 Tours in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide guided minibus tours of West Cornwall. They feature the most interesting and beautiful spots of the region and are a great way to learn more about this fascinating land. With a maximum of 8 passengers, tours are intimate and itineraries depend on what you would like to see, what the weather is doing and how far you would like to walk. We typically squeeze in ancient monuments, mining works, a cup of coffee and coastal scenery before running out of time. Open tours run on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, last 4 hours, cost from £35 per person and leave from Penzance and St Ives. Private tours start from £195. Call or email for details.
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience !”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I and my husband had a nice day thanks to Russ about nature and Celtic and ancient heritages in the west Cornwall. He was very friendly and has knowledge in depth, especially legends, geological characteristics, and so on. We enjoyed drive private tour by his minibus. I wish to have the chance to visit again the region, although far and far from Japan.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Keiko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ancient Sites”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Cornwall rocks! And, Russ knows where to find them (the rocks that is). Russ is incredibly knowledgable about the area and, importantly, he's a great fellow to spend the day touring with.
A couple of recommendations:
1/ If logistics and time allow, Russ knows a great out of the way cafe and gift shop that has wonderful "cream tea." Stopping there provided a great break and energized me for the rest of the tour.
2/ If you really want to maximize your enjoyment of the ancient sites, before you go, pickup a copy of the book "Cornovia" by Craig Weatherhill . Got my copy at Books Plus in Penzance.

Thanks Russ for a wonderful and enriching day! Keith Frady, Oregon, USA

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank keithfrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day tour in Cornwall”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I had a delightful day with Russ of Western Discoveries touring Cornwall. He knew all the best sites, the local legends, botany and geology. We visited prehistoric standing stones, ruins of tin mines, local unique churches and more. Even though the weather was "filthy", we had a great day.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My wife and I were treated to a 1st-class day-long excursion around Cornwall by Russ. He was very knowledgeable, pleasant and patient with our many questions about this fascinating region. He managed to get in a grat deal of exploring in a day. We visited ancient and modern areas of interest. We would highly recommend this experience to anyone.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great custom tour”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Our first trip to Cornwall. Russ made it all worthwhile.
He picked us up at our B & B....arranged the entire day to our choosing.
Good price, good service...very knowledgable.
Gene & Fay Rowton
Chesterfield, Missouri USA

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank eermomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Discoveries Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Western Discoveries Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing