We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoilt history”
Review of Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Union Hotel
Ranked #63 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Be prepared to be surprised at this unassuming central Penzance hotel. Situated in probably Penzance most notable street and perfectly located for doing the town, you will find a combination of wonderful old public rooms with fabulous high ceilings, a well stocked bar that would put any pub to shame and modern dining with an imaginative comprehensive menu. Don't expect up to the minute interior design in the bedrooms but do expect old world atmosphere and good service. The charming Howie and his receptionist made me feel right at home the minute I arrived and I was lucky to experience some great jazz during one the hotel's regular functions. This is I believe Penzance most historical hotel and you will find some wonderful old pictures in the reception hall. The hotel also has the rare advantage of private parking!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building have harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osiworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've just returned from a trip here, where I stayed for 3 nights. Our room was cosy, with a double bed, large wardrobe, desk, tv, chair and en suite bathroom, with a view of the bay.
It's definitely not the Ritz but there is a lot of history in this hotel. It's not the shiniest or newest place, but it is comfortable and is fine for a night's sleep.

There is a restaurant, bar, breakfast bar and a lounge, and great views.

Room Tip: pay for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The best thing about the Union Hotel was that our host was genuinely interested in our comfort. Each morning he came into the Breakfast Room, to say 'Good Morning' to everybody. This personal touch is a nice change from the big sterile hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanga193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel could definitely benefit from some TLC. Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you're looking for luxury don't come here. If you want a comfy bed, lots of character, reasonable rates and an address on the lovely Chapel Street, do. Handy for everything, we particularly liked a stroll in the Morrab gardens and along the front before dinner at Mackerel Sky. A plus for us too was undercover parking (stops the dreaded seagull splatter!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great location, beautiful old building, lovely room up at the top with fantastic views over Mount's Bay. A bit shabby, but you wouldn't worry about that. So what's the problem? It could be so much better. A slightly better breakfast; a less peculiar bunch of regulars in the bar; a more welcoming reception desk - they'd all help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a sea view (eg room 29)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlegrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the union hotel in the 'Dolls House room'. Really nice clean room with a comfy bed and amazing view over the bay. The bathroom had a good shower. Great central location. A good nights sleep was had.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Behappycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Reputedly a hotel since 1743 and with parts of the building older this hotel may not be for the faint hearted or terribly unfit. It has a wonderful staircase, a lively bar and features small and large. Do not be fooled by the frontage. A short walk down to the promenade or up to the centre puts this hotel into the heart of Penzance and of its history. All this, a hearty breakfast and good beer at lunch or in the evening make for a fascinating place to stay all topped off by the owners art collection.

Room Tip: Each room is unique a travel lodge it is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fountain Tavern
The Fountain Tavern
#70 of 82 in Penzance
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#46 of 82 in Penzance
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#56 of 82 in Penzance
208 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Address: 1 Chapel Street, Penzance TR18 4AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £90 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing