We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stand!”
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One night stand!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were travelling to the Isles of Scilly but got stuck in Penzance because of fog, wanted somewhere for just one night and booked ourselves into the Beachfield. It was a good move.
This is a lovely hotel; it is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the staff most welcoming.
We were the only guests taking dinner and the meal was delicious.
The following morning we had to leave early to catch the ferry to the islands so took an early breakfast, although the chef did not arrive until 07,30 the staff made sure that the buffet was open and that teas and coffes were available; when the chef did arrive the breakfast was cooked to order and was once again delicious.
We will stay at the Beachfield again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    73
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
91
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I must admit to being a little anxious about staying at this hotel for a business trip. It is not a business hotel, but where in Penzance is? Actually it was fine. I did find the same as other reviewers e.g. no parking, but I had no problem parking in the street for free. It is true that on the top floor the water pressure in the shower is low. I got up extra early to allow extra time in the shower.

Breakfast was a mixed blessing. If you have cooked breakfast there is no way of getting out of the hotel before 8am at the very earliest. I had to arrange my schedule to take account of this.
On the other hand, it is cooked to order and so is far superior to the usual chain quantity over quality and powerful lights keeping it hot from 6.30.

I was able to sit in the armchair in my room looking at the wonderful view of Mounts Bay, working on my computer. The chest of draws also provided a perfectly adequate desk space. Views great and hotel fine.
Y



I


Oor
Oor
E
Em
Ly

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_COLCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you for your review. As you point out we are not specifically a business hotel and have a general mix of clientelle, and we are pleased that you found your stay comfortable. A word about the showers. For the comfort and safety of our guests we have installed showers with a safety valve which means that as the water becomes hotter the pressure is lessened to avoid scalding. As for breakfast, we have found that our guests appreciate quality over speed and I hope that this didn't make you have to rush too much. We do hope that you will stay with us again if you are visiting Penzance.

Kind regards
The Beachfield Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Beachfield is a lovely hotel.The staff are lovely,the food is excellent,the views are great,and I had a really good stay.
Room 8 is perfect for a single traveller,and I really want to return when it has been refurbished.
The only reason I haven't given it excellent was that the waiting staff in the dining room are not well trained...get that right Beachfield,and it's definitely top marks!

Room Tip: Room 8 for a single traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Beachfield Hotel, we are all so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your staying with us again. It was unfortunate that you arrived on the week that we had taken on two new waiting staff, but they are quick to learn and will very quickly gain more confidence. Room 8 is now being totally refurbished and should be ready in a few weeks.

Best regards
The Beachfield Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Located along the Promenade, the Beachfield is a sweetly refurbished hotel with some waterviews. Parking is very limited - arrive early to park in one of 4 very squashed spaces, otherwise try get a spot on the street or there is a long stay car park across the road. The staff were lovely - there was definitely no faulting that.

After lugging our suitcase up the stairs (no elevator, but they do offer to carry your bags up for you), we got into our room which had a good sized bathroom and a comfortable bed. Tea, coffee, biscuits and toiletries were well stocked and our bath towels were luxurious. We also had a waterview (not something we necessarily requested, so I'm not sure if there is a difference in price between waterview and non waterview rooms?). The room was very hot at night and the only way we could cool down was to open a window, which produced a lot of noise from the road below.

Breakfast was good value with a lot of selection on the menu including more posh dishes, however we found breakfast was a lot better if you ate earlier. I had Eggs Benedict on the first day about 15 minutes after the dining room opened for breakfast and it was really lovely. The egg was cooked perfectly and the sauce was creamy. On the third morning when I ordered it again about 1 and a half hours into breakfast, the sauce was thick and starchy like it had been reheated. Waitstaff were very friendly, but seemed inexperienced (wearing flip flops in the dining room?) and not on the ball. Juice and coffee were not refilled until this was brought to their attention, and tables were not replenished with pots of jam, honey, butter, sugar or milk.

Room service prices seemed a little steep - add on an extra £2 service charge? We were going to try out the hotel restaurant for an evening meal on the day we arrived, but again, the prices were quite high.

For the staggering price we paid I was expecting a much bigger room, bigger TV, bigger bath.... Admittedly this is a 3 star hotel, but I felt like I was paying the price of a 4 or 5 star, regardless of it being on the waterfront or not. I have stayed in other 3 star places around England on my travels, and they have offered the same quality of food and service for half the price. I was disappointed because I expected extreme luxury, but couldn't help that feeling of having unnecessarily parted with so much money. Until the price drops this is not a hotel I will be recommending.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lel_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Beachfield Hotel and your positive comments concerning the tangible and intangible aspects of the accommodation, facilities and service.
In response to your negative comments I respond as follows:
1) We do not indicate in any of our literature that there is extensive onsite parking, but as you quite rightly mention there is ample street parking (which is free and immediatley adjacent to the hotel) as well as a long stay car park directly opposite.
2) We do not have a lift, but as you mention we do offer to carry guests luggage for them to their rooms.
3) I fully take on board that your Eggs Benedict were not to your satisfaction on the second occasion you had them. I only wished you had brought this to our attention at the time providing us with the opportunity to rectify it immediately and hence enhance your breakfast enjoyment.
4) A small room service surcharge is common throughout the world.
5) Our restaurant is not over priced and is extremely competetively priced for the region and town.
6) Whilst I fully appreciate you may have travelled around England and stayed in varying establishments, I can asure you that our hotel is very competetively priced for the region and other surounding hotels of similar or equal quality. Cornwall is one of the United Kingdoms prime tourist destinations and attacts a discerning and quality clientele in a unique region and like some other parts of the world the price is reflective of that.
Yours sincerely
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
160 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Beachfield hotel in Penzance offers good value for money.

Great points:
- Very good location on Penzance’s Promenade, facing the sea
- Contemporary rooms with comfy bed and double glazing (pay the extra cost for the sea view!)
- Excellent breakfast
- Parking directly in front of the hotel

A few downsides though:
- On the second floor the water pressure is low
- No access to the wifi network in some parts of the building, however the owner Philippe confirmed that this issue is about to be fixed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
your review is positive and constructive
we know for the two negative points that one of them will be sorted soon and the other one will be more difficult.

the first one,
the WiFi, we have had difficulties to have full signal in every rooms due to the thickness of the granite walls in this old victorian building, but a solution has been found by installing more cabled wifi points.It is an ongoing project and we hope to have that finished in a months time.

The second,
The water pressure, we have installed some pumps to increase the presure but the building is not modern and we will never be able to have the same pressure you get in a more modern building.
Our hotel was built in the Victorian era and we have recently refurbished the entire hotel for the comfort of our guests, but like you said we have not found the way to provide stronger water pressure especially when the hotel is totally full and the demand for water is high at the same time.

thank you very much or Merci beaucoup et nous espérons vous accueillir bientôt en Cornouailles.

Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Exceptional service from the phonecall to the hotel to book to the minute we stepped out of the hotel leaving!! We did only stay the one night (as an addition to our weeks holiday in a cottage) but it has left a lasting impression on us.
My partner and I holiday every summer in Penzance with our dog. She is a labrador so not the smallest dog either! In other places in Penzance and around the country we have received lower standards of service and accomodation because we travel with our pet. Not here!! To be honest, when i mentioned we had a dog i was expecting a "bog standard" room, when we arrived i was overwhelmed. Huge, clean and tidy bedroom with amazing seaviews and ensuite (bath and shower) was lovely. Sat in the bay window late at night watching fireworks at the pool as part of Golowan festival, couldnt of been anymore perfect. Topped off in the morning with a fresh, lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Thank you so much Beachfield for making us and our dog very welcome!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
"CANNOT FAULT A THING" What a very positive review, thank you so much to point out the fact that we did provide an excelent service. My team and I feel proud to hear that you and your labrador had a good night with us at the Beachfield hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A pleasant stay in a tastefully refurbished hotel which successfully blends traditional and modern styles.
Rooms well appointed, clean and comfortable.
During our stay one particular night the weather was atrocious wreaking havoc around us but we were completely undisturbed.
Friendly place, good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
The positive posting of your recent stay at the Beachfield hotel despite the weather is SO appreciated. The comment “A pleasant stay in a tastefully refurbished hotel which successfully blends traditional and modern styles” describes perfectly what we are trying to achieve at the Beachfield.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and on behalf of my team, Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Best regards,
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Property: Beachfield Hotel
Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing