We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Perfect”
Review of The Beachfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beachfield
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We visited this Hotel on business and arrived early evening. We were greeted by the manager & shown to our room. We had been upgraded which was unexpected & had lovely views to the sea out the front & promenade to the side. (Room 2 I think)
We did view a standard room at our request & although smaller was still very fresh & modern.
The room was spacious & nicely decorated. The free Wi-Fi was also very useful.
The bar area is again nicely decorated with a clean modern feel.
Breakfast was very tasty. It was freshly cooked with good quality ingredients & service friendly.
All the staff we met were very pleasant & chatty.
The only negative point was the water pressure. We had to run the hot water for about 10 minutes before it got up to temperature. Also the shower had very low pressure which we were later told was due to a filter problem.
All in all this was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: All double rooms have a see view. Singles have a rear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julespmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

THANK YOU FOR “OVERALL PERFECT” REVIEW
Thank you for taking the time to write this review so quickly after your departure.
It is nice to see you really enjoyed your stay with us (February 2013).
I remember your arrival and I can confirm the room you had was a free upgrade, room number 2.
It was a pleasure to give you this free upgrade and it is delightful that you really enjoyed the decoration of the room, the quality of the breakfast and the free WI-FI.
You mention that all staff you met were very pleasant, most of them have been working with me for 3 years and I do recognize that my staff are what makes the Beachfield a friendly, inviting and comfortable hotel..
During your stay you had a problem with the water pressure and you did mention to me on your departure, Thank you for telling us at that time.
After your departure I notified our maintenance staff and they have been able to rectify the pressure and the temperature for the next guests, it is important to have a direct feedback, so then we can rectify or repair straight away.
On behalf of my team I really want to thank you for your honest and constructive comment and more important I think your comments give an exact picture of the Beachfield hotel February 2013.
Kind regards
Philippe LEFEVRE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Excellent hotel in a lovely location. We stayed in October and the rooms were warm and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Glorious views of the bay and the sea. Short walk to the town.
Food excellent. Breakfasts and dinners superb.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

THANK YOU FOR " PERFECT STAY "REVIEW.

Fantastic to hear that your stay at the Beachfield last October was perfect.
your comments on the food, both Breakfast and Diner are really appreciated by our dedicated chefs and myself.
we hope to see you again soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I visited the Beachfield Hotel whilst on a quick trip to visit Land's End in early November. Very impressed - friendly reception staff, an unexpected - but very welcome - room upgrade to a nice spacious room overlooking the sea, and an generous hot breakfast nicely cooked to order. Another plus was that the hotel was situated 1 minute away from a bus stop for the Land's End service. Altogether an excellent hotel - I would certainly be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

THANK YOU FOR “Brief visit - a very good experience” review.

Brilliant to hear that you have been impressed by the Beachfield Hotel, our mission has been achieved and you will be very welcome if you visit us next time, maybe for a longer stay.
your comments have been past on to the staff as always.

Thank you
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is everything a good seaside hotel should be. We had a small double with a fantastic sea view. Room was good. Breakfast was excellent. All of the staff were really friendly too. Highly recommended and we hop to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

THANK YOU FOR “5 star service. A superb hotel" review.

You clearly noticed all the positives of the hotel - Room was good, breakfast was excellent and all of the staff were really friendly too. Those positive points are essential for a hotel; it is why when we have such a positive review like yours, we greatly appreciate.
We thank you for your support of The Beachfield Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

If you're looking for a hotel in Penzance, The Beachfield Hotel is definitely worth looking at. The staff were great, the views amazing, and the breakfast brilliant.

One slight drawback could be that the curtains were a bit thin - not a problem in October, but in the summer they would let quite a lot of light in - so watch out if that's a problem for you.

Room Tip: The sea views are great - I'm not sure if there are any rooms without a sea view, but it might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

AN EXCELLENT HOTEL.
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts about your stay with us.
we are delighted that you recommend us on tripadvisor in such a nice way .
For people who can only sleep in a pitch black room, we are aware about the new curtains from some of the rooms and we have already started to fit some blackout curtains.
on behalf of my team, thank you very much for your spontaneous honest comments.

best regards
Philippe Lefevre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Well I visited Beachfield for the second time this year.I've never been to the same hotel twice,as I like to go to different places,but if you find the perfect hotel for you,why go anywhere else?
Excellent food,lovely staff....just brilliant.
I shall make it my place to go,at least once a year,or hopefully twice.As busy foster carers my husband and I take seperate breaks,and it's important that I feel comfortable on my own in a hotel.
Beachfield feels like home to me now,and room 8,which is a small double room for single occupancy has been refurbished recently,and is a really nice room,now with a shower,and still with its awesome views of Newlyn and St Michaels Mount.
So book in and stay with them,and you will realise why I love it so much.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8,if you are travelling solo,but the sea view doubles are excellent too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

RETURN TO BEACHFIELD
We are honored that you have chosen to become a regular repeat guest to the Beachfield Hotel.
Knowing that there are so many alternatives throughout West Cornwall.
The commitment you make has significant meaning to everyone who tries to make each and every stay an unforgettable one. Each member of staff thanks you from the bottom of their hearts and like we say my home is yours.

Warm regards
Philippe Lefevre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This hotel is so much more than its three star rating. The food was excellent, breakfast had a very good choice and freshly cooked. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, you felt really welcome. It is a small hotel and the attention to detail was exceptional. We had a corner room with views both out to sea and along the coast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at The Beachfield, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
we are delighted you enjoyed the food, specially the breakfast.

From all our reviewers , you are the second reviewer who mentions we should be rated higher and it is really appreciated.

Our ambition is to be a good quality hotel where our guest can recognize all our effort to make there stay exceptional.

Thank you for your support and we will be very please to welcoming you soon.

Best regards
Philippe Lefevre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
499 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachfield

Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range: £79 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachfield 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield offers superior guest accommodation, award winning breakfast and attention to detail in every aspect of service. All complimented with breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, we have long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. All of our interiors are constantly refurbished to maintain the high standards that the modern traveller quite rightly expects. As well as our leisure travellers we cater equally for the needs of our business guests who for many we have become their regular 'home from home'. With free Wi-Fi throughout the property, comfortable lounges, bar and award wining breakfast served daily from 07:00hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Beachfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance
The Beachfield Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing