We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is great but the bed was uncomfortable”
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast is great but the bed was uncomfortable”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We visited the Beachfield Hotel over a Saturday/Sunday and found the staff very pleasant and professional. We slept in a small double room which was very small, but since all we really wanted was a bed & breakfast we were happy. However, the bed was very uncomfortable, so we left to try the Stanley B&B instead. If it wasn't for the bed the Beachfield would have got 4 stars.
Also the free Wireless doesn't quite reach all the rooms and the corridors can be quite noisy late at night.
The breakfast though was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    77
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
96
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed t the Guest Lodge which is an annexe to the Beachfield Hotel and not in the main hotel though the facilities of the hotel were available for us to use should we so wish. Our room was quite small with no outlook as the windows were small and high up near the ceiling. This to us was no problem as we arrived late, as intended, and left soon after breakfast for our onward flight to the Isles of Scilly. The room made for a good stopping off overnight stay. The room had a standard sized bed which was comfortable and a good easily controlled shower. There was plenty of clothes and suitcase storage space in our room.

Breakfast should we have required it was £6.50 for a continental style and £11.50 for a full English which is standard price around the country.

We were offered full use of all the other hotel facilities including the lounges which were very comfortable and had newspapers available and a variety of local and more national magazines to read. In addition there was a games room which had a variety of board games, chess, noughts and crosses as a wooden board game, 4 in a row, pick up sticks and several others which would be entertaining if delayed or the weather was bad. This is a very good touch and a pleasant change from electronic video style games.

Reception was equipped with a blackboard on which was displayed the expected weather forecast and most important in this part of the world the daily tide tables again another good touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEAFORD UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a 4 night stay which included watching a match at the Cornish Pirates,the ground is a 2 minute walk fron the hotel,so perfect location for us,we enjoyed our stay very much,the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very polite and helpfull,the food in the Resturant was 1st class and is well worth a try,breakfast was piping hot and delicious,we have already planned a return visit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PIEMAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Clean, decent sized rooms, beds good. Our room overlooked the sea and the road - but still quiet even with the windows open. Our friend stayed in a very generous - for a change - single room. Staff friendly, limited parking at hotel but plenty of street parking nearby. Restaurant good although last orders by 8.30pm. Also a good Thai restaurant opposite for a change of menu. Penzance seems to be improving since I was last there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling-siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just got home after a 2 night stay.Have stayed many times in the past.Seems they have had a Complete makeover.Bedrooms now updated.restauraunt now gastro style.all round good for you Beachfield.shame the car park upgrade still on going.All round fantastic.thankyou

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed on my own for 4 nights at the Beachfield in September 2013 as a base for walking the southwest Coastal Path between Hayle and Lamorna Cove. I felt very welcome and all members of staff were consistently friendly and helpful in making my stay enjoyable. The location for my purposes proved perfect because several bus services from the peninsula (e.g. 1A, 300) stop only a few yards from the hotel - very welcome after a day of clambering along the coast path. Both breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant were of excellent quality and the service was very attentive.

Room Tip: The ocean view single room at £80 had a lovely view and a fairly big bed where i slept well, On the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent staff, very helpful, for example providing a non feather pillow and looking after luggage the following day.
Delicious food - both supper and lovely big breakfast with made to order eggs.
Very comfortable and clean, large size room with sea view. an excellent night's stay. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
471 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,662 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 83 in Penzance
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Property: Beachfield Hotel
Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing