We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am a bit confused as to why the Beachfield is so highly rated. It is a decent 3* hotel, but it certainly is not worthy of 4.5 points on here.

I’ve stayed there a few times and rooms vary hugely. If you are lucky to have a seafront double they are bright, airy and spacious. If not, you end up in a tiny single room with a view of some wasteland behind the hotel. The WiFi didn’t use to reach the second floor, but that appears to have been fixed now.

The bathroom toiletries are of very poor quality and the shower curtains smell really mouldy and stink up the whole room. Cleaning also appears pretty relaxed, with some bins not being emptied after previous guests and a general feel of staff not being too bothered.

Breakfast is a highlight – great choice and good quality. I wouldn’t recommend dining there, the meals are expensive and there are much better restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peter102110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Beachfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I had a very comfortable single room here. Staff are excellent and welcoming. The position of the hotel is fantastic, right on the promenade. Worth eating an evening meal here too as the food is very good and with a sea view. Sea bass to be recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank tiggersuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a really lovely hotel at the Newlyn end of Penzance and room 5 has a great sea view. Our room was beautiful, with everything we needed including a very comfortable bed and pillow. Tea and coffee facilities and definitely try the hot chocolate. Brilliant breakfast. Friendly staff and everything we could ask for. Parking was a bit cramped but I think they said a new car park underway.

Room Tip: Walk to Newllyn and buy a Cornish pasty from the village shop.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Not cheap, one of the worst views I have ever had from a hotel window (scrub ground and the Chinese restaurant across the back alley). Single bed was only just comfortable enough to sleep on and everything else was the complete definition of average.

Room Tip: Presumably the sea front rooms do not look out over derelict land, but presumably they cost even mor...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weeesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booking this hotel was an easy, well handled process. Originally I had booked the Guest Lodge as I hadn't seen Beachfield. After changing my mind, I contacted to change booking and sort out payment etc. Communication was excellent and all my emails were answered promptly even given our time differences.
We arrived after a long drive on a wet, grey miserable day and it was like walking into Mums. Warm, inviting and just a delight. Check in quick and straight to our room. Nice room, well appointed, overlooking water. Full sized bath a bonus. Room was quiet and I slept very well.
Very good breakfast. Check out was as easy as checking in. Lady on reception also great help with directions on where we needed to go. A very nice hotel with lovely warm service from beautiful people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traci_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here as a lone traveller for one night (had been working locally for the week and fancied making the most of the location!). After a dire stay at another hotel, this was like heaven. Clean, modern and comfortable. I stayed in room 19, a single room on the second floor which had it's own en suite. Breakfast was a delight: a huge range of warm items, in addition to a buffet table of fresh fruit, yoghurt etc

Will definitely be returning next time I'm in Penzance.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here in a sea-view twin room for one night in June. The hotel looks like many other traditional seafront hotels from the outside but there has been obvious investment in renovating the inside so that it has a much fresher appearance - especially in the main public rooms. Our bedroom was comfortable, clean and a reasonable size. It had a good view of the promenade and the sea.
Dinner in the restaurant was superb. The chef is clearly talented and cares about his food. Service also had the right blend of friendliness and efficiency. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked - I can recommend the Eggs Benedict.
The only downsides that you need to be aware of are the lack of a lift (but staff will help with luggage) and a very small car park (but plenty of nearby free parking)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
480 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
505 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range: £75 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield offers superior guest accommodation, award winning breakfast and attention to detail in every aspect of service. All complimented with breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, we have long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. All of our interiors are constantly refurbished to maintain the high standards that the modern traveller quite rightly expects. As well as our leisure travellers we cater equally for the needs of our business guests who for many we have become their regular 'home from home'. With free Wi-Fi throughout the property, comfortable lounges, bar and award wining breakfast served daily from 07:00hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing