We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, lovely room and food”
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, lovely room and food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel just over the road from the sea. I had a very pleasant small double room as a single, No 17 on 2nd floor, lovely sea view. The room and bathroom looked recently refurbished and were nicely decorated and furnished. Bath with shower over. Plenty of room to store clothes etc. Only drawback is that there is no lift. Food was excellent. Breakfast very good choice of cereals, pastries, yogurts, fruit. Cold meat, cheeses and cooked breakfasts to order. The hot food was always beautifully cooked with freshly made toast. Evening meals also very good, with a reasonable choice, but there were only two menus - Monday/Wednesday/Friday, and Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday, with a roast on Sunday. Dinner again was beautifully cooked. Maybe a little expensive, eg about £6 a starter and £19 main course, but that is about what you would expect to pay for this quality of food. Staff very friendly and helpful. Reception manned all day, with a night porter.

The 'Little Wonder Cafe' in a little caravan (weekends only) on the promenade opposite the hotel does lovely tea and cakes served in beautiful china cups and pots.

The beach opposite the hotel is mainly mud and shingle, but most people seem to go for a swim there at high tide when you can go in straight off the lower part of the promenade. Go to St Ives or Hayle for sandy beaches.

The hotel is about a 15 min walk from the town centre, and 20 min walk from the bus and train stations. It has very limited parking, but there is free parking in the road, and a long stay Pay & Display car park almost opposite at £5.60 a day.

The Beachfield is a lovely hotel and is a very good base to explore this part of Cornwall. I thoroughly enjoyed my week's stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyanna_rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    74
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
93
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location on the Promenade. It can be a little noisy but the view is worth it. There is limited parking at the hotel (only 3 spots for small cars) but we were able to park on the street for free. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. This was a family vacation booked on short notice but the hotel was able to accommodate us although we were in different rooms on different floors. Breakfast was great. I would suggest booking well in advance for this sparkling gem of a hotel. Our young adult children commented that this 3 star hotel was much better than many of the 4 star hotels in which we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely overnight stay at this hotel. Room was very clean and spacious with the most amazing view overlooking the bay and St Michael's Mount. Only problem was the traffic noise. It was a warm night, so shutting the windows made the room quite stuffy. Substantial breakfast and convenient parking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Beachfield Hotel is a small and pleasant base from which to explore West Cornwall. The Hotel is across the street from the sea wall and the bus station is within comfortable walking distance. It is easy to take the bus to Mousehole, Land's End and St. Ives. Several of the rooms have oceanfront views that provide a spectacular view of the bay. The hotel appears recently renovated and is nicely appointed. The food at the Tides restaurant is excellent, including the morning breakfast, where guests are provides a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile to ask for an oceanfront room, and whether the room has wi-fi. Also note, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroltreardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just back from a two week hoilday in the South West and once again I stayed at The Beachfield Hotel on the seafront in Penzance for four nights before moving on. As per my previous stay in 2013 the hotel is in a superb location, easy walking distance from the town, railway and bus stations. The staff are really pleasant, you feel very welcome and valued - everything about the hotel is to a very high standard and as for breakfast, best in Britain! . If you do not have a car like me - no issue getting about, bus to Newlyn, Porthcurrno, Sennen Cove and Lands End stop next to the hotel. Looking forward to my next stay in 2015.

Room Tip: Premier Double has view out across Mounts Bay and down the promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aldo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived tired after a long drive. The manager of the hotel greeted us warmly and made a parking space available for us as there were no parks near the hotel.
They are building a new parking area soon .
Hotel is tidy as was the room, although dated.
Stay was comfortable.
The manager was very helpful friendly and pleasant .
Breakfasts were excellent
We would recommend this hotel to others

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in June & 1 night in July. Small, but nice and clean rooms. Very good breakfast. We had dinner at the hotel one evening, and were impressed by the food. The staff is very helpful and competent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 81 in Penzance
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Property: Beachfield Hotel
Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing