We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Archie Browns

Archie Browns
Ranked #29 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretentious and bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I went here for a change of venue and menu but was very disappointed. Food was bland and uninteresting and service was poor. Being a man alone in this female oriented establishment was threatening and disconcerting - I was viewed with great suspicion. Likes to present itself as principled and worthy but it's just another caff trying to turn a buck for its owners! Having now tried it, I won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    28
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hearty Vegetarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Compared to its Truro sibling, this is altogether a more standard veggie cafe. The food is good but not as light. Staff friendly and cafe light and airy. We had enchiladas (2) and non-meat balls. No complaints at all but perhaps it reflects the character of the two towns, Penzance being a working port whereas Truro is more prosperous with many office workers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuriaAntiquior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Vegetarian Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

A health store on the ground floor and a vegetarian eating venue upstairs, a varied menu that is consistently good , locally sourced items that are cooked freshly on order, vegetarian vegan and gluten free items available as is dairy free but prices seem to be on the pricier side and the portions are getting smaller, we have also encountered the problem that not all items available for breakfast not told until breakfast arrived at the table, not offered replacement items or reduction on bill. There is a flight of stairs to reach the cafe and I am not sure if there is another access that avoids the steps, also it gets busy and as there are wooden floors it can get rather noisy, a great place to meet friends

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alohanicky2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Archie Browns Bread Street Penzance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hmmm... Archie Browns appears to be loosing its touch. 2 vegan breakfast please at £6.75 a pop. We were happy to pay that. However, the kitchen had run out of vegan bacon ( the most expensive element on the plate) which is not problem at all as long as that was reflected in the bill. We received the bill with no reduction, that was not the deal. We were then told we had been giving an extra sausage ( no laughing ) we had not and really didn't fancy an extra sausage ( I can hear you ) I very politely asked for an adjustment to the bill and the lovely waitress asked the appropriate person in the kitchen what she should do and she was told to just bung us a £1.00 refund ! Lovely waitress LEAVE Archie Browns their ethics aren't all they are cracked up to be ! Though I suspect you already know that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Consistently lovely ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Visited just after Christmas and as ever didn't disappoint. Exciting different food plus the old favourite homity pie!

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archie Browns also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Archie Browns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing