We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little pub in interesting corner of Penzance”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #48 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Set on a quiet Penzance back street, The Crown is one of Cornwall's hidden gems. You'll find no distracting screens, jukeboxes or slot machines - just friendly local people savouring the ambience and hospitality of this renowned establishment. The Crown is also home to Cornish Crown ales, a local real ale brewed by the landlord that has a loyal following with six regularly brewed variations. Three draft ales are always in tap at The Crown, and this will expand to six pumps of real ale. There are also weekly guest ales and we also have Prosecco on draft.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice little pub in interesting corner of Penzance”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This pub is well supported by locals and visitors alike. It has a cosy feel - bistro type food at lunchtime. Limited menu chalked up on the board, but nice. Shame sandwiches are not included. The beer is their own brew and a very nice brew it is too.

Food is not served earlier in the week but there are curry evenings; steak nights; carvery lunches later in the week.

This pub is a little out of the ordinary. Plenty of character, standing on the corner of a nice residential Georgian square in an historic part of the town. Not far from the centre, this is one of the nicer town pubs.

Only one thing marks it down from being excellent - one or two of the tables are sticky due to the old surfaces, and there is nothing more annoying than the paper napkin and beer mats sticking to the table!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful traditional pub”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the SPA beer that they brew themselves. Impressive beer friendly staff and used by locals - need I say more - will return here again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanoStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic roast and pint”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I do a lot of pub roasts locally, well every Sunday for that matter, and this is one of the best I have had for a long time.

This is home-cooking as it should be. A good selection of veg, tender meat, delicious gravy. My partner is a veggie and she was impressed with the nut roast.

The Crown also brews its own ale, and the SPA was a lovely compliment to the food - so much I had more than one.

If you're looking for a cosy, local, unpretentious, friendly pub - then The Crown is the place for you.

I'll be coming back...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie34212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long wait & not good enough food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Me & my boyfriend were on our first day of our holiday to Penzance with some friends & this was the first place we came to when looking for somewhere to eat. We arrived & it didn't take us long to order our food. However, we were waiting an hour for it to arrive & when we enquired about where our food was, a member of the staff replied with "It'll get to you when it gets to you". When it eventually did arrive, a lot of it was just bog-standard pub food, nothing to write home about & therefore not worth the long wait. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HurtsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How a pub should be”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Great corner pub. Buzzing atmosphere. Friendly owners and staff. Landlord even recommended a malt whisky to look out for. Food excellent. Good choice, including vegetarian. Pizzas great. And then there's the own brewed beer! Would spend every night in the Crown if I could!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eardun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing