We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Penzance
Nearby Hotels
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$389
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
537
229
69
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
229
69
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay restaurantsteep hillgroupon dealcar parkthe complimentary afternoon tealovely hotelrestaurant staffsea viewst michael's mounthonesty barevery afternoonno lifton arrivalshort breaklovely viewcream teamounts bay
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We decided to extend our holiday with 3 nights at the Hotel Penzance. I cannot recommend it enough. It's Spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely, very comfortable bed, great bathroom with lots of hot water.

Breakfast is delicious- lots of choice including eggs benedict and huevas rancheros.

We have a newborn baby and they made sure we were in a room that was far enough from everyone else so we didn't disturb other guests. Also it's a perfect location, close to the station and town.

But the highlight is the staff, warm and friendly and they can't do enough for you. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the car park and it was still lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

So glad you had a nice stay with us and appreciated the room we allocated to you and your family. Hope you had a lovely holiday and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and the bed was warm and soft - all basics well covered! Location is great for arriving by train and car and is an easy walking to the town centre.

There are a few niggles with the room that I've addressed in the review that the hotel asked me to do, but nothing that would stop me visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a group over a long weekend.Our room was on the ground floor with views of the harbour. It was of good proportions with a very comfy bed, walk in shower and plenty of room to hang our clothes. There were the right numbers of large fluffy towels in the bathroom.
One thing of note was the poor lighting in the room which made it impossible to read at night. The bathroom was however, brighter than necessary.
The tea and little cakes served in the lounge was a lovely touch, well appreciated after being out for the day. Best to get there early as its very popular.
Although others have raved about the food I did find the menu a little strange. Beetroot appeared twice in two days. Also when I had lamb it was wrapped as a parcel enclosed in a layer of fat. Not very appetising. The vegetables also lacked variety.The deserts were very tasty although not always as expected.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to have sea views and would be worth any extra supplement.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Following a memorial service for Trafalgar Day at Madron village church we booked lunch for two in the hotel restaurant. The menu offered a good selection and the food was very agreeable. Two observations that I would make though are firstly the serving of three root vegetables with the main course, some green vegetables would have been a better balance and welcomed. Secondly, the table surface is very unforgiving and my dinner plate kept rocking every time I used my knife and fork until using some leaflets as a place mat. Ironically the diners at the neighbouring table were experiencing the same problem. A small thing but irritating. Neither of these things would deter us from returning though!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Shashvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Superb Edwardian pair of houses converted into superior hotel with fantastic sea and harbour views.
From the moment we arrived for a two day stay as part of a longer tour of Cornwall we knew we were in for a treat. We were greeted at reception and invited into a drawing room for afternoon tea and sweetmeats - all complimentary and available for guests every day between 3-5pm.
Our room on the second floor was luxurious if a bit of a trek and the bed like floating on a heavenly cloud.
It is apparent that the owners have a great eye for detail and there are many aspects to the hotel Penzance that delight the eye and the senses - such a relief from homogenous modern hotels. This one has character and individuality and is a stylish blend of old and new. The outside terrace where you can have a drink or coffee - and we did both even in October - has a real continental flavour like the Italian Lakes. The restaurant is stylish and light with great views.
We had the standard menu one night and a tasting menu for four the following night when two friends joined us for a birthday treat. On both occasions the food was faultless and delicious and the service friendly, impeccable and all the staff knew about the food and wine when asked and did so with enthusiasm. Next morning breakfast was also of a high order and as I was slightly jaded by cooked breakfasts bu this stage I enjoyed smoked haddock and poached eggs and eggs benedict another day by way of a change. Utterly delicious.
We were loathe to leave and may return. What a good base for a trip to the Scilly Isles.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classiccarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay and also nice that you appreciated our efforts. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews