We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRULY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“TRULY AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The first thing upon arrival in the reception is the lovely smell of scented candles and the impeccable decor, together with a very high standard of cleanliness. The enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff was lovely, to such an extent that we were given a passionate tour of the entire hotel. We were in a party of three, myself and my wife's uncle and aunty, who were immediately upgraded to a beautiful suite. The rooms were outstanding, both in comfort and in decor. We were here for just one night, however enjoyed the stay so much that we plan to return with the rest of the family for a weekend break. We did not have dinner in the hotel therefore I cannot comment on that, however the breakfast on offer was lovely, with every need and taste catered for. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hotel is looking very sparkly and cosy with all the Christmas decorations and we look forward to seeing you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    190
    62
    22
    14
See reviews for
79
476
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A lovely hotel on the edge of Penzance with amazing views over to St Michaels Mount. Within walking distance to the town. Lovely comfortable rooms that are spotlessly clean. Friendly staff. In the morning you have a great selection at breakfast. Hope to return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review. St Michaels Mount is just one of the amazing views that can be seen from some of our rooms with others having just as spectacular views of penzance harbour which at the moment is looking very twinkly. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I have just stayed here for one night, and we had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly, and they provided an excellent level of service. Our room was extremely comfortable, and it was impossible to find anything wrong with it.
Our breakfast was so good that we promptly booked Sunday lunch, and this meal turned out to be just as good, and very good value for money. We will definitely be returning for a piece of Penzance perfection!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireHomeworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review and glad you were provided with the high standard of service we aim to provide all our guests.
Writing from a very sparkly and Christmassy looking Hotel Penzance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isles of Scilly
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We decided to extend our holiday with 3 nights at the Hotel Penzance. I cannot recommend it enough. It's Spotlessly clean. Our room was lovely, very comfortable bed, great bathroom with lots of hot water.

Breakfast is delicious- lots of choice including eggs benedict and huevas rancheros.

We have a newborn baby and they made sure we were in a room that was far enough from everyone else so we didn't disturb other guests. Also it's a perfect location, close to the station and town.

But the highlight is the staff, warm and friendly and they can't do enough for you. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the car park and it was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
So glad you had a nice stay with us and appreciated the room we allocated to you and your family. Hope you had a lovely holiday and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and the bed was warm and soft - all basics well covered! Location is great for arriving by train and car and is an easy walking to the town centre.

There are a few niggles with the room that I've addressed in the review that the hotel asked me to do, but nothing that would stop me visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a group over a long weekend.Our room was on the ground floor with views of the harbour. It was of good proportions with a very comfy bed, walk in shower and plenty of room to hang our clothes. There were the right numbers of large fluffy towels in the bathroom.
One thing of note was the poor lighting in the room which made it impossible to read at night. The bathroom was however, brighter than necessary.
The tea and little cakes served in the lounge was a lovely touch, well appreciated after being out for the day. Best to get there early as its very popular.
Although others have raved about the food I did find the menu a little strange. Beetroot appeared twice in two days. Also when I had lamb it was wrapped as a parcel enclosed in a layer of fat. Not very appetising. The vegetables also lacked variety.The deserts were very tasty although not always as expected.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to have sea views and would be worth any extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylou49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Following a memorial service for Trafalgar Day at Madron village church we booked lunch for two in the hotel restaurant. The menu offered a good selection and the food was very agreeable. Two observations that I would make though are firstly the serving of three root vegetables with the main course, some green vegetables would have been a better balance and welcomed. Secondly, the table surface is very unforgiving and my dinner plate kept rocking every time I used my knife and fork until using some leaflets as a place mat. Ironically the diners at the neighbouring table were experiencing the same problem. A small thing but irritating. Neither of these things would deter us from returning though!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shashvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
6.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing