We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Penzance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Penzance
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed in Penzance for four nights and this hotel was really satisfying in every aspects. I really enjoyed the restaurant with fantastic food, and also the sea view bedroom. The staff here are truly helpful to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azureblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Gpod afternoon - thank you for your review and am responding whilst looking over a sparkling blue sea. The weather is just fabulous at the moment. We look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    196
    64
    23
    14
See reviews for
80
483
84
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Penzance on two occasions now and will definitely stay there again. . The hotel is very clean and the staff are all very friendly including Jerry the cat! We have eaten in the restaurant and the Sunday evening meal of roast pork and beef was one of the best we have ever had.
The room was immaculate with dressing gowns, tea and coffee etc.although we did have problems with the internet service. Overall this is a superb hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRFrancis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Good afternoon and it was good to see you once again. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

An excellent hotel which I wholeheartedly recommend. Attention to detail is in every aspect. A seaview room is worth the extra price. Only downside is the car park which can get full and be awkward to park when hotel is busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyfdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Good afternoon and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Definitely worth upgrading to a sea view room where you can sit and view the sunshine sparkling on the water across the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at hotel penzance for 3 days and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is just up a hill along the coast, no more than a 5 minutes walk from the train station. The staff very very friendly and helpful, taking care of my luggage as I arrived early and placed it in the room for me when the room was ready. The rooms were very neat and clean, showers and heaters were in very good condition. The tv was placed a bit far from the bed so it was quite hard to watch, but apart from that everything was good. I had hotel breakfast included which was great. The restaurant has an amazing view, good food (I had egg Benedict and full Cornish breakfast), and very friendly staff. A very pleasant stay for me and I would definitely recommend it.

Shao Hao
Reviewed April 14

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss-hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello there. Thank you for your positive review and glad we made your stay a good one. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a fantastic few days in Cornwall. The Hotel Penzance exceeded our expectations on just about every level. Sue made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, took the luggage to our room as we both have disabilities, showed us where everything was, got us a much needed drink and sorted out the internet problem I had straight away.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, has high quality facilities all round, is most comfortable and tastefully decorated. There were plenty of nice touches such as bottled water in our room, bath robes, bath mat, good beds and TV.
The breakfast was of a very high standard with the option of buffet and cooked food. The staff were most polite and helpful in all areas of the hotel.
The hotel is in a very convenient location, about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the rail and bus stations and about 20 minutes or so walk to the Scillonian ferry. The walk up from the main road is short but steep. We hope to be back there for another break later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayFunBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Good afternoon! So pleased you enjoyed your break with us - it was a pleasure to meet you and looking forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A few days away in Cornwall was a surprise success and turned out to be one of my mosy enjoyable mini breaks. This was not only thanks to the amazing countryside but also to the hospitality of Hotel Penzance and its staff. From ease of booking to pre-arrival confirmation, this hotel lived up to expectations. During our stay the service, friendliness and openness of all staff was exceptional and refreshing. Great break and great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnedenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello and we are so pleased we made your mini break special for you. Thank you for your review and hope to see you when you fancy another holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous tea for two here. Fresh bread and pastries. Also scones with cream and jam. Everything was perfect and frankly I dont understand why I had read so many negative reviews. One I read had compared it with tea at the Ritz!!! Likely ten times the price. The chap who served us was polite and efficient. The whole experience was lovely. The English complain too much in my humble opinion. I would love to visit again! Well done to this hotel and all who contribute ti its running.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank _judimartin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi and thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another nice eating experience at Hotel Penzance and Bay Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.8 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
219 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,617 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
834 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Property: Hotel Penzance
Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing