We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the chef cook cook!”
Review of The Summer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summer House
Ranked #53 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If only the chef cook cook!”
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Yes, the decor is a bit "Changing Rooms" / amateurish but it's all done with friendly enthusiasm. Like other reviewers, I had trouble getting hot water from the shower at times and found the strange soft top mattress so uncomfortable that I had to take the bed apart in the end to get any sleep.The pre-dinner loitering with a drink went awry as no one appeared to take any drink orders. But the really sad thing was the much vaunted cooking at dinner. One course (not a pudding) was almost perfect -- except that it was drenched in a honey sauce of overpowering and cloying sweetness. The other was a sad combination of good ingredients that just didn't really work together. The waiting staff in the dining room are also a bit 'simple' and got orders mixed up. The breakfast was excellent and -- despite the whining above -- I would recommend it. The house itself is beautiful, the garden is a lovely retreat and the owners are engaging.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hittite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We have been meaning to stay at the Summer House for years. Many of our friends have stayed and everyone says how wonderful it is. We agree.

This is a truely unique place run by really nice people. The hotel itself is lovely georgian mansion but its traditional exterior gives little hint of how stylishly the interior has been decorated. The sitting room and the resaurant as so romantic. We chose a superior room and our bedroom was a wonderfull sunny yellow overlooking the garden with an enormous limestone bathroom.
In the evening the garden and trees have lights in them and laying in bed looking out over them was magical.

As we stayed at the beging of the week the restaurant was not open but if breakfast is anything to go by it lives up to its reputation. Breakfast felt like being in France, we were served in the garden with freshly squeezed orange juice and just baked croissantes with wonderful myrtille conserves. We had slices of fresh pineapple with blueberries and coddled eggs from the farm down the road.

Penzance is a nice old market town by the sea and the Summer House is wonderfully placed in the conservation area just off the sea front. Our three day stay was only a taster , we will surely be back.

  • Liked — couldn't fault it
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
282 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

The Summer House is indeed a bright spot in Penzance because the city itself is not that great.
The rooms are quite small but clean and lovely decorated.
We stayed on a Tuesday and hoped we could enjoy dinner in the restaurant but the restaurant is only open from Thursday to Sunday. That was a bit of a disappointment. I suppose we should have checked the website better (our own fault).

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2006

Excellent small hotel about 500 metres from the sea front. We visited for a long weekend at the start of October 2006.
Rooms were small but bright, spotlessly clean and modern.
Linda and Ciro Zaino, the ownerss ,could not have been more helpful, treating you like personal house guests rather than just customers. Linda was always available to offer tips and itineraries of places to visit and Ciro was always eager to please, adjusting the menu to take care of any special requests. In our case where my wife is allergic to seafood and doesn't eat duck which was on the original menu, he produced an entirely separate menu for her to ensure she did not miss out on the experience of eating in the fantastic restaurant.. Breakfast was a standard english, with the usual muselli and fruit on offer, simple but well presented. All in all a really pleasant experience and we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high quality short break in cornwall

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan&Silvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Our friends’ recommendation centred mainly on the restaurant and its reputation for superb dining, so when we arrived for our Cornish weekend it was a bonus to have a warm welcome on the doorstep from Linda and – when not busy creating the dinner we were later to enjoy – from Ciro with the wine list. The décor throughout the house is quirky and delightful, with singing blues and yellows – so don’t expect the beige’n’cream of hotel chains!

Our room was charming – colourful, though not tryingly so,
and decorated with interesting ‘objets’, and – apart from the seagull family nesting on the roof opposite – quiet. The next night was a Saturday and the restaurant was full but we certainly were not disturbed by noise.

The food more than lived up to expectations; four friends joined us for dinner and between us we explored the menu and the interesting wine list. In the morning we enjoyed an exceptionally good breakfast, highlighted by delicious orange juice,warm croissants, and some unusual fruits to round off the traditional full English.

It was a cool and blowy May weekend so we were not able to enjoy drinks or al fresco eating in the patio/garden, which is decorated in the same Mediterranean colours – but there’s always a next time…

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 May 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful anniversary weekend at The Summer House which must be one of the most charming hotels we have ever stayed in. The building itself is the sort of house you would give your eye-teeth to own and it has been decorated with such unerring taste that it is no wonder that they have won so many design awards. Our gorgeous bedroom was light and airy with beautiful hand painted wallpaper and had everthing you expect at this level - big comfy bed, crisp white linen, soft fluffy towels and expensive toiletries but the joys were the little touches, the latest glossies and some well chosen books, a posy of local flowers, Bogart DVD’s - bliss. If it had rained every day we would have been happy here. Especially since the food was so marvellous that we ate in the restaurant on all three nights.
A truly wonderful stay that we will repeat very soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2006

My husband and I stayed here during the first part of a tour around Cornwall. I had read all good things about the Summer House and I wasn't disappointed. Our room was spacious, bright and airy but the decor was a bit strange. The sea theme of yellows and blues is a bit old hat now and it did feel like everything had to be blue, yellow, checked or sea-themed - a bit overdone! The shower seemed to be impossible to get to a nice temperature too.
The food, however, was a different story. The cosy restaurant seats just 18 people and is a lovely intimate dining experience. In the summer the garden is a peaceful haven to dine in also. The food is lovingly prepared and the sea bass I had was one of the most delicious pieces of fish I have tasted!
You are very much left to our own devices here and the owners are very hands-off, which is nice and relaxed so you can come and go as you please.
Penzance itself is not a great place, but would definitely recommend visiting Mousehole! We walked there along the coast and was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkey_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#35 of 81 in Penzance
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#21 of 81 in Penzance
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 81 in Penzance
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#43 of 81 in Penzance
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer House

Property: The Summer House
Address: Cornwall Terrace, Penzance TR18 4HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique rooms nd Mediterranean food in a stunning historic house by the sea. Five star Gold award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Summer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summer House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing