We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but there are better options nearby”
Review of The Summer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Summer House
Ranked #49 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a nice stay here - large room, beautifully decorated house, lovely breakfast... but no friendly welcome, no information (no local info, breakfast times, etc..) and no breakfast menu. While breakfast was great it would have been nice to be offered a choice - wonderful fresh-squeezed OJ (but no option of any other juice), fruit cup, great homemade jams with different types of bread/toast, and cooked breakfast was eggs with other 'Full' options like mushrooms and tomatoes. I have a food allergy and was never asked, or told what was in the different dishes. I also phoned on our way to check parking was available and was assured the small lot was empty, but after arriving 30 minutes later there was no availability. I did find free parking down the street but it wasn't as convenient. Also, the basic rate is overpriced for what you get elsewhere. If you want to stay in Penzance this is a good option, but I would recommend staying at The Old Coastguard in Mousehole or a local B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aelliott21921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Summer House was a last minute find but what a treat it was. The house and garden is beautiful, the room was very comfortable, attractive and spotless. The garden breakfast was delicious. The hosting was attentive, friendly and knowledgable. Linda was fascinating and a mine of local info. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grimbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had a fantastic evening in this pretty B&B. Ciro was very welcoming and one could see that the place is very well kept, the rooms are clean and super cute. Linda has put a lot of care and attention into each detail. A rare gem!
Would definitely go back!
The breakfast was fantastic, the courtyard also very nice.

Before leaving Linda gave us brilliant tips for the area which really made our day :)

Room Tip: There are no rooms with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892ceed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Linda and Ciro are wonderful hosts and have created an oasis of relaxed beauty. Have drinks in the delightful Courtyard garden and then dine on Ciro's wonderful food. By the way he is a mean tennis player if you need to burn off a few calories the next day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We recently spent two nights at this delighful B&B in Penzance and were surprised and more than satisfied with every aspect we encountered. Directed to it by a most friendly lady at the local Information Centre in Penzance we were met by Linda and shown to an absolutely stunning double room very well themed and decorated in blue which more than exceeded the requirement. We were given every bit of help required from Linda down to superb recommendation's for local restaurants etc and found the whole experience top shelf. Breakfast, cooked by Linda's husband, was just beautiful and a perfect way to kick off the day, would return to this B&B in a flash and will definitely recommend to our friends in New Zealand should they travel to this most beautiful part of the UK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were doing a walking tour through Western Cornwall before a trip to London for the Olympics and started & ended our trip in Penzance. The Summer House was the BEST of the accommodations we had while in the area. The room was perfect - nice size too. The common areas were very welcoming as well so we didn't feel restricted to sitting in our room. We thought Linda was a perfect hostess and we felt very welcomed. She gave great recommendations for restaurants too! I would highly recommend staying here if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just had three nights in The Summer House and loved the place. Firstly as we approached the hotel I thought oh no, as I saw this brightly painted hotel at the end of a narrow street just of the front at Penzance. But on entering and meeting our hosts all of that feeling disappeared. Loved everything about it, the bright interiors, the home drawn art, etc. Our room was large with a small shower/toilet and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were as good as any that we have had in any hotel and indeed since our return we have adopted one particular part of them ourselves. The knowledge of local towns, villages, attractions and how to get there was first rate.
Yes it is limited on parking space and it is more of a B & B than a hotel but then it is much more personal than a hotel, Penzance is a good base to tour surrounding areas but not much of a resort itself so all the more important to have good accomodation. Evening meals available only at weekends pre-booked, or snacks during the week also given notice. We indulged in light evening snack and it was great, just what we wanted and on talking to the landlord of the neighbouring pub the hotel has a reputation for excellent food. All in all I wouldn't rush back to Penzance but if I was in the area I would definately return to The Summer House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
839 reviews
0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#55 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer House

Address: Cornwall Terrace, Penzance TR18 4HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique rooms nd Mediterranean food in a stunning historic house by the sea. Five star Gold award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Summer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summer House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing