We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keith & Tracey to the Rescue!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honeydew Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Keith & Tracey to the Rescue!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have previously left a review prior to our visit to Honeydew as the hosts were worthy of one even before our visit. Imagine my surprise when I called them again after being washed out at a campsite in Devon on the Bank Holiday Sunday. We had only booked for the Monday night so we could be with relatives and rang with trepidation in the vain hope that they would be able to accommodate a family of four and a wet tent at even shorter notice than before.

Two things to say on that - Yes they could and their names are Heath and Stacey. Oh, how we laughed!

Honeydew is a quaint B&B in the heart of the town. Heath, Stacey, their two children, Lily and Marley (even the dog) welcomed us with open arms. Their knowledge of the local area is second to none. They even showed us to the best beach to surf and Lily also gave us a tour of the town of Penzance. Fantastic people. I was almost expecting tea with Heath's mum at one point during our stay, we were made to feel that welcome! Even Stanley the dog was friendly.

I would thoroughly recommend anyone, either for business or pleasure, to stay here when in town or on route to the Scillies. The breakfast deserves special mention for the quality local ingredients and Heath's excellent poached eggs (he did tell us his secret by the way) were fabulous and served with a smile.

Good luck to Heath and Stacey in their new venture. Hope to see you next year.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
22
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed both en route to and returning from the Isles of Scilly. We stayed for two nights the first time taking the opportunity to visit St Ives and explore Penzance & Newlyn. Heath was helpful in accommodating our mountain of luggage and arranging taxi to the Scillonian! Rooms had TV with DVD,free wifi and tea making facilities. We shall certainly be booking in again next year.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We have stayed at the Honey Dew on two occasions ( before and after a holiday in the Scilly Isles)
The location is perfect for train and boat travellers. The welcome from Stacey and Heath was professional and friendly. They were helpful without being intrusive. We stayed in a different room on each vist. The rooms are well equipped and both showers worked very well. The rooms are on the small side so very fat clients could possibly struggle. The breakfast was freshly cooked, plentiful and used good quality ingredients . New to the premises, Stacey and Heath are establishing the an excellent reputation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we was doing some business in penzance so decided to spend a couple of days there,as it was coming up to bank holiday it was difficult to find a hotel and one that would take dogs.We come across the honeydew on the cornwall b& b site.What a little gem.They made us and our dog very welcome .The guest house and rooms are spotlessly clean ,a little small but have everything you need and are tastefully decorated.The breakfast is large enough to satisfy the biggest of appetites.It is also well situated in the town near the station and car parks and just off the sea front and ferry terminal.The couple that run it are very helpful and being local have a wealth of knowledge of where to go and local attractions.If you are ever in penzance for a few days you cant go wrong with the honeydew and the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at Honeydew Guest House the night before travelling on the Scillonian III. We were welcomed as arranged by Heath and he advised us on the best parking options for area. Heath and Stacey have taken this business over recently and have plans for the future. We have no doubt that the location combined with their hosting skills will be a winning combination.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our first night in Cornwall was spent with Stacey and Heath at the Honeydew. The welcome was warm and friendly and you didn't feel awkward on entry. Great location for the station and town. Stacey and heath were fantastic hosts and the breakfast was lovely (thanks Heath.!). Will definately stay again on our next trip down. Thank you
Rooms were clean and comfortable, well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Last minute plans to visit family in Cornwall on a bank holiday filled me with dread with having to plan a one night stay on bank holiday Monday. At this late hour my hopes were pretty slim until finding Heath and Stacey at Honeydew in Penzance. Before I have even visited I feel like THEY are my family as I already feel most welcome due to their very generous nature. Can't wait to experience the guest house for real in August. I will update my review once visited.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#34 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#51 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#59 of 82 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 18 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount Royal
Mount Royal
#38 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeydew Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeydew Guesthouse

Property: Honeydew Guesthouse
Address: 3 Leskinnick Street, Penzance TR18 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Honeydew Guesthouse Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing