We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penzance Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

3 of us came to Penzance for the first time last November..actually, we didnt book a room because we thought it would be easy to find a hostel there. But we were wrong. This backpacker was pretty big, clean, but hard to find and quite far from center...
Yeah we like it, but one advice for tourist. You should book a room first and then travel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linh Anh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
16
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed after Easter 2014. Friendly and welcoming accom, Matt the manager is always helpful and around to see if everythings ok.
i intended to stay 1 night, and stayed 3 :-D

ample space in dorm rooms, each having own shower room.
large very well equipped kitchen, all you need (and communal spices :-))
comfortable lounge, and outside areas.
no silly curfews, own door and dorm keys.
free (quiet) street parking outside, about 5 mins walk to the seafront, 10 mins walk to town centre and/or ferry for Scilly isles.
I guess about 15 mins walk to/from rail sta.
by the way: Please ignore the terrible reviews that some ppl left years ago, dont think theyre justified... as for ridiculous comment by someone wanting a lift, for gods sake! if you want a lift, pay £110 a night for somewhere!

Its worth mentioning that Penzance is a friendly town, I am confident that you can have a happy stay here however long its for.
Enjoy!
S

Room Tip: there are a mix of dorms and double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilliAndGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, NH, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Penzance Backpackers hostel in Cornwall, UK for 5 nights in April 2014. We are 70 years old and this was our 50th wedding anniversary trip. Matt, the owner is on site and very friendly and helpful. The kitchen, the toilets and showers and the rooms are spotless-clean. This is a convenient location and a pleasure to stay at. It was quiet, friendly, comfortable and safe. Matt insists on recycling glass, paper, and cans and makes it easy to do.
We give this hostel our highest recommendation. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: There are double, family and dorm rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I found this Hostel to be a cut above many & at the lowest price!
I was in a 7 bed female dorm with en suite, spotlessly clean, especially the bathroom. All common areas were always kept clean & tidy. The location is good & has excellent front door security. A short walk into the city centre via the main road or along the waterfront.
Landlord Matt is friendly & helpful, I thank him for the extra mile he went for me & I highly recommend his Hostel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Redrobbie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Honestly I was a bit skeptic at first knowing it's a low budget accommodation. However, it surpassed my expectation. It was clean, comfy and Matt is a good bloke. Good location, just 10-15 mins walk to town. It is quite close to the beach if you are planning to do the sotuhwest coastal path. Would definitely visit again for my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athena94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velbert, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for three nights are we were more than happy. The room, bathrooms, kitchen and other facilities were very clean and the interior in our room seemed new and tidy. We kitchen is spacious, well equipped and was always very tidy and clean. It was very quite and relaxed and cheap for £18 per person in a double room which even came with a little sink. The location was very convenient and we always found a car oak in front of it. I can highly recommend it and we would go back any time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We chose to stay here as we were on a budget Cornwall trip during Easter 2013. We had the double Private on 1st floor next to the shared bathroom on that landing. The room itself was compact in size. It had a window, a wash basin, a really comfy double bed with cosy duvets, some hooks/basic shelve for clothes n stuff and a very good heater. Free WIFI is available in the rooms as well as the living room.

The hostel itself is quite a walk from the Railway Station (20 min+), however once you learn the shortcut it is a bit better (12-15 min). The shared kitchen and living room are equally good. There is a collection of books, movies to play on the video player/TV, cable TV and pamphlets for things to do and see around.

We mostly got up early (7-7:30 AM) to start our day and those times we were lucky to find the bathrooms free to use immediately. However, the kitchen was usually crowded in the evenings (anytime from 6:30 PM onwards). If a large group had occupied the kitchen it was all the more difficult to go about doing your thing. Good thing that the living room was still available to use for dinner sit-down after you could grab enough space/ time to cook in the kitchen. Just wish the kitchen were double the size :)

Tea/Coffee and supplies for the same are provided in the kitchen (you can get your own fresh milk if you don't want creamer provided). There is cooking oil and quite a handful of spices if you don't manage to get your own!

Sleep quality was good (we usually returned tired from the day's activities) and Matt was very very flexible with all our requests. We wanted to check-in at 9:30 AM, that was no problem. We wanted to return later to collect our luggage after check-out, which was arranged too! No fusses at all. A refundable deposit of £10 is payable for the room key and the hostel has a security code for the door so it is very secure.

Pros: Very very (like spotless) clean, homely, good caretakers, flexible, cosy beddings
Cons: Location if you might be visiting the railway/central bus station everyday of your stay, Smallish Kitchen (kind of depends on how full the hostel is during your stay)

Room Tip: Double Room #4 if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prajtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
796 reviews
0.8 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 19 in Penzance
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
YHA Penzance
YHA Penzance
#1 of 1 in Castle Horneck
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#45 of 82 in Penzance
102 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lower Penderleath Farm Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzance Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzance Backpackers

Property: Penzance Backpackers
Address: Blue Dolphin Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hostel, located in the coastal town of Penzance, Cornwall, in the far south-west of Britain, providing friendly, budget, self-catering accommodation for the independent traveller. Whether you want to explore the amazing Land's End peninsula, with its beautiful beaches, stunning cliff scenery and long-distance coastal footpath; stone circles and ancient sites; sub-tropical gardens, art galleries and craft shops; or just want somewhere to relax and take it easy, far away from the stress of city life, you'll always find a warm welcome here at Penzance Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penzance Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzance Backpackers Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing