We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and familiar guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoreline Guest House
Ranked #39 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely and familiar guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Blossom room and can only agree with the other positive resumé. Because we told beside the booking that this is our honeymoon Liv even decorated the room for us. The view is beautiful and calming and the size of this room even allowed a small dining table. Having the best fish & chips shop in town and an Indian takeaway just around the corner there is no better place for dinner to have the best view in town. We had also the pleasure to see the Olympic torch passing by the Shoreline and Liv did a small party in the front patio while waiting. Followed by the best breakfast we had on our trip. So thanks again to Liv and her crew.

Room Tip: Room Blossom is the largest room with sea view. We can not judge rooms without sea view but can only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkatja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    20
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
63
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Booked a twin room for 3 nights but upon seeing room and bathroom, could not stay. The room was small and crowded, no where to put suitcases, no wardrobe, no seating, no heating we could see apart from a radiator. Bathroom was so small I had to open door and stand in bedroom to wash my hands at the basin. Lovely view but no room to sit and enjoy it. No wonder half payment is requested up front. Went to St Ives where we found lovely sea view twin room at much better value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank janefelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed in 'Blossom' which has a fantastic view.
Fantastic breakfast. Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyag80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed in Blossom for about 4 days in September 2011. Walked into the room and all I saw was the AWESOME view!!! Location great, food great, Liv was a wealth of info on places to eat and getting to some of the sites (Minack Theater and St Michael's). I had wanted to get with a guide to see the Nine Madians, Men A Tol, etc. was not able to. Liv helped me get with someone who lived their whole live in Cornwall and I was able to see all the sites I wanted!!! I would highly recommend this hotel for price, view, location and service. What an awesome trip!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Our first trip to Cornwall ... and looking forward to the next already. Liv and Suzanne were the perfect hosts. Directed us to the best places to eat and gave wise advice as to what we could do with our two nights. On Liv's suggestion, we wandered around St. Michael's Mount at low tide and had plenty of time to catch the bus to St. Ives where her recommendation of lunch at the Porthminster's Beach Cafe turned into an almost Michelin starred experience. On the morning we left, we told Liz we were disappointed not to have sampled a real Cornish pasty so she said to get one at the train station. We got two and had them for lunch. Very tasty too! Kept us pretty satisfied all the way to Castle Combe (near Bath). True, our room was small but we had everything we needed plus more. The panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean from our room (#6) more than made up for the traffic noise below. Breakfast was terrific too. Bravo Liz!

Room Tip: If very sensitive to traffic noise, make sure to tell Liz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Escargots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We ended up with a room at the back of the property on the top floor. The whole property smells musty, the room even more so. There was a separate toilet on one side of the room and the shower and sink on the other side. These facilities are very small and if you are of a larger size, you may even struggle to get in them! This is one loft room that should never have been converted. If there was a fire, I'm not sure how you would get out! The breakfast was average, the room price expensive! There is nothing in Pezance so consider staying further around the coastline in a nicer spot!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinderella-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed here on a tour of Cornwall. Warm welcome by the landlady who helped us to find somewhere to eat and places to visit. The Shoreline is a comfy, cosy bed and breakfast and the front bedrooms have wonderful views, Its clean and the breakfast is beautiful. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Parking opposite on the sea front is free
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#72 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#38 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#68 of 82 in Penzance
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#51 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#31 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Guest House

Property: The Shoreline Guest House
Address: 17 Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline is a small modern guesthouse, with a 4 star rating, situated directly on Penzance's promenade. 6 Rooms all ensuite. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Sea View rooms offer uninterrupted sea views, from St Michael's Mount across Mounts Bay to Newyln. Wireless interent access is available free to guests. A selection of delicious cooked breakfasts are available for our guests including a tradional Cornish cooked breakfast, Creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or our French style pancakes stuffed to the brim with banana, blueberries, and topped with maple syrup. A warm Cornish welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Shoreline Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing