We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“arrive to find no-one there and no way to get in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoreline Guest House
Ranked #63 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Maybe this is a new trend in B&Bs with absentee landlords? We had booked online some 3 days previously because we had been travelling around other places in Cornwall. Arrived about 3.30pm and there was no-one in and the door was locked. We came back at 5pm. and still the same. We looked up the telephone number associated with the booking, but could get no reply. After much waiting and worrying we finally got through to a man who gave us the number code to enter into the security lock on the front door. we let ourselves in - no-one was there to tell us which room. We went out to find some dinner, on returning about 9pm. we found another booked customer stranded on the doorstep also wondering what to do. She seemed genuinely upset so we told her the code and let her in. Still no host/staff were there all night as far as we knew.! Next morning 2 staff were in the downstairs room and the kitchen to serve us a cooked breakfast, which was very nice. I asked about the problem getting in and was told we should have received an email after booking to explain; but we left home the morning after booking anyway. I enquired whether the owner actually lived on the premises and was told know, though there was a caretaker who 'couldn't be there 24/7' -they just came in the morning to cook the breakfast and clean the rooms. Very peculiar to me! Did not make me feel safe. Has anyone esle experienced this kind of set-up?

Room Tip: rooms have a sea view, but also next to the road and very noisy seagulls nesting in the guttering ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The room was a little on the small side, we had to ask for towels for the shower but overall it served its purpose. Jack sorted out the towels pretty promptly though. The breakfast was excellent. Only downside was that after returning from breakfast, even though out cases were still in the room, the bed had been made ready for the next guests. We did wonder whether the bed linen had been changed!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Room excellent, apart from the very small en-suite (they are all 'compact', apparently). Great views, though. Everything clean. There was even a fridge. No car park, but that's the norm in Penzance. There is parking outside, but we were there during a festival, and it was very busy. We parked in a nearby hotel's car park (at a cost, but worth it for peace of mind). The breakfasts were very good, with plenty of choice for those with smaller appetites, with the full works if you wanted it.
Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: 'Blossom' seems to be a bigger room, and the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda_S593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had a great 5 night stay here, the room was very comfortable and well maintained. There was a TV and tea/coffee making in the room and free WIFI.The bathroom was a little small but served it's purpose and there was shower gel and shampoo for your use.
The view from the room over Mounts Bay was superb with views of St Michael's Mount and Newlyn as well as the prom. Breakfast was a wonderful choice of cereals, fruit,nuts and raisins, granola and Greek yogurt, followed by your choice of main breakfast (menu choice filled in night before) was well cooked hot and plentiful and followed by toast and a choice of tea/coffee . The staff were helpful and polite and nothing was to much trouble for them. There is no parking on site but I did get parked on the main road out side but there is plenty of parking in the near by streets. The town is only a few minutes walk away along with the harbour and swimming pool,there are a good selection of restaurants and pups near by for a crab sandwich or evening meal. I would go back here the next time I go to Penzance.

Room Tip: Front 2nd floor single room on suit is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our one-week stay at Liv's blossom room in her bed & breakfast hotel in Penzance. The place is very well-cared, that is the room was lovely furnished in light colours, very clean, and the breakfast was unexpectedly "exquisite", just using the best local ingredients. What is most worthy-noting, however, is the hostess's helpfulness, not only in planning our stay in the area around Pencance, providing us with great recommendations "where to go", but she also helped us as a private Person to lengthen our Cornwall stay by doing internet researches and telephone calls in her free time to find another place for us to stay . Above all, she transported our entire luggage to the new place 20 miles from Penzance in her private car, unbelievable, isn't it?!

We want to come back!
For many reasons!

Room Tip: The 2-bed-room "blossom" is highly to recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maqrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a room at the front overlooking the sea although a bit small, the view was fantastic. The room was kept very clean and nothing was too much trouble.
It was very hot during our stay in Penzance and when we mentioned this to Liv (the Owner) she provided us with a fan for our room and a mini fridge complete with beers. The breakfast is the best I have ever had in any B & B or hotel. Choice of granary wholemeal or white bread for your toast and lovely fresh fruit with Yogurt. Parking was not a problem. We always managed to get a space oppisite, on the promenade.
We would recommend this lovely B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending 2 nights at Shoreline, and apart from the breakfast being a tad early (8 - 8.45am) it was excellent. The aforementioned breakfast is very very good, there's a varied choice so something for everyone, after breakfast on our first morning we went and sat out on the decking area at the front and the lady who served us breakfast came out and asked us if we would like tea or coffee out there, we said coffee would be very nice and she brought us out a tray with a large cafetiere of coffee, two cups/saucers and milk and sugar, now thats what I call service. Our room was the Jasmine room which is their budget room and so is one of their smaller rooms, but it had everything we needed, clean and well stocked with tea/coffee making facilities, we did have a slight problem filling the kettle as we couldn't get it under the tap so we filled it by undoing the shower head from it's hose and filling it that way. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and Liv the proprietor is lovely, very friendly and helpful and if we return to Cornwall at some point we will book the Shoreline Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_Anderson_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
843 reviews
0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penzance
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#57 of 84 in Penzance
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoreline Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoreline Guest House

Address: 17 Marine Terrace | The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoreline is a small cosy B&B directly on the sea front. We have some of the best views in Penzance, with uninterrupted sea views, from St Michael's Mount across Mounts Bay to Newyln. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoreline Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing