We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Food with a nice view”

Gino's Spaghetti House
Ranked #77 of 184 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food with a nice view”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Though as Americans traveling in England, my daughter and I decided to forego the more traditional English fare and have a late dinner in a restaurant that wasn't very "English." On a cold, overcast night in April we picked Gino's because (1) it was open and (2) because it had a nice view of the Penzance harbor. There are a lot of Italian restaurants in the United States, and we were curious about the comparison. When we went in, we were the only customers and we were seated by the front window as to afford us a nice view (and to possibly attract other customers). We had some very good wine, and the food (from an expansive menu) was absolutely great. Our server was attentive and great. By the time we left, more customers had made their way into the restaurant. If you're looking for something that is not fish and chips, consider Gino's.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teacher-DRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    35
    17
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst service ever, but tasty food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

6 of us came in at 9pm, were told our food would be half an hour.
We decided to have garlic bread to see us through.
25 min later, we asked about the garlic bread because the food was 'due'. It then turned up - overdone and burnt.
9.35 a pizza and a pasta came out. The pizza was lukewarm, as if it had been sitting around, so was sent back. It then came back 5 min later (still not piping hot), together with the 2 cold starters one person was having as a main.
Asked about the rest, were told it was ready. 9.45 the 2 lasagnes came out. My pasta (spaghetti amatriciana ie spaghetti, tomato, ham, chilli,not exactly taxing) eventually came out at 9.45 - and then was given to someone else!!
We also had to remind them about the side salad.
No apologies for any of the lateness - half the group had finished before the other half's food came out.
We asked for the bill, it then took 15 min to arrive, again after we asked for it. A young waitress replied 'well it's very busy' and walked off when we said about the service (less than half full!), she then slammed the bill down.
One of our party went to the bar to complain and eventually we had the burnt garlic bread and cold pizza taken off.
The pastas were really tasty. Just a shame the service was so atrocious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hearty Italian food in a great setting”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Some of reviews on here are unnecessarily harsh but there are so many negative ones from quite a while ago, I can only imagine the management has changed or something. The blonde waitress who served us was attentive and friendly as we sat overlooking the sea on the Penzance quayside.

My mozzarella carozza starter was tasty as was my veal cannelloni main. I am told the minestrone soup starter was also good. The pizzas were excellent. We were here on a Monday night and it was very quiet but this did not seem to indicate anything wrong with the food. Yes the desserts were a bit on the 'taken out of a freezer' side but it didnt spoil the meal.

For atmosphere, setting and hearty food, I would definitely recommend Gino's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayjunkie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“If microwaves didn't exist neither would this.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my pregnant mother. The food was that dangerous we just left immediately as she would of got extremely poorly or worse from the microwaved food and sides that had clearly been hanging around all day.

Helpful?
5 Thank niinabubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,080 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Lunch was tasty”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

As we were in the area and saw that it was open for lunch we dropped in. Nice interior with a splendid view of mounts bay and the mount.
Menu price at lunch time was the same as evening and therefor a little pricey,choose two pasta dish's.
Around twenty min's wait before they arrived which was ok as they were (we were informed) made from scratch {?}....plenty on the plate and the sauce with both was good.

No real complaints other than £22 for two pasta & a tiny glass of very average wine seemed too much,as we were the only customers I would guess local folk feel the same.
Odd feature,I left to get the car while Sue settled the bill,when she came out she told me that she had been asked for a gratuity!!..." How do you say no" she shrugged,simple just say NO.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gino's Spaghetti House also viewed

 

Been to Gino's Spaghetti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing