We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Gino's Spaghetti House
Ranked #80 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Looked nice from the outside, but seemingly they seated everyone in the windows to make it look busy!

Service was ok from one waitress, but have never been anywhere that took so long for an average meal to arrive!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keely P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    17
    20
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Should have walked when I saw the threadbare table clothes didn't get better!
Diet Coke was not and I asked for this!
It was sad!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dai62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely restaurant with stunning views over Penzance Bay. Food took a while to arrive, but was worth the wait,top notch!John and Sue

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccolvin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very poor service ”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A stressed waitress 'squeezed us in' to a half empty restaurant on a Saturday evening at 9 pm. Calamari starter arrived 40 minutes after it was ordered, with a minimal apology. Pizzas followed almost as slowly.
The food was actually of reasonable quality but the service left a lot to be desired. On the pricey side for what it offered too.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food with a nice view”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Though as Americans traveling in England, my daughter and I decided to forego the more traditional English fare and have a late dinner in a restaurant that wasn't very "English." On a cold, overcast night in April we picked Gino's because (1) it was open and (2) because it had a nice view of the Penzance harbor. There are a lot of Italian restaurants in the United States, and we were curious about the comparison. When we went in, we were the only customers and we were seated by the front window as to afford us a nice view (and to possibly attract other customers). We had some very good wine, and the food (from an expansive menu) was absolutely great. Our server was attentive and great. By the time we left, more customers had made their way into the restaurant. If you're looking for something that is not fish and chips, consider Gino's.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teacher-DRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gino's Spaghetti House also viewed

 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to Gino's Spaghetti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing