We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of The Tremenheere

The Tremenheere
Ranked #93 of 181 Restaurants in Penzance
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Dropped by for a burger, typical weatherspoons but the burgers were really nice and the staff attenive and certious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccabutler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    72
    52
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's a Wetherspoons”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Typical Wetherpoons with standard menu. Very busy when we visited but food was well cooked and served promptly. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. Tables were not being cleared or cleaned very quickly. On my second visit workmen were installing a projector screen and part of the dining area was roped off which wasn't very good as, apart from the noise, dust was floating about from the drilling. Toilets upstairs which was a bit of a trek!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Basic Wetherspoons”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Tremenheere is situated at the top of the hill in the centre of Penzance.
My wife and I went in around noon for lunch thinking we would get in before the rush. We grabbed the last table. Being in Cornwall, we had to have the Cornish Pasty and chips with beans. Ordering from the bar, the staff member had to go and check if they had any pasties in!!
We only had a 10 minute wait and the staff member delivering it was friendly and polite. The meal was ok but nothing to write home about. Couldn't find any salt for the chips anywhere. Some of the clientele appeared to be the type you find in a "spit and sawdust" pub. As people finished and left, they were taken up fairly quickly. Very few tables were wiped down by the staff after they were vacated.
For the basic meal we had, I would recommend going to a fish and chip shop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good cooked breakfast. ”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had their Large cooked breakfast. Ordered at the bar and the food was served to our table very soon afterwards.
Good portion and well cooked so no complaints.
The young waitress was pleasant and asked if everything was ok.

Helpful?
Thank EarlSuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A Place for Gathering”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Big space and great value for drinks! It is always crowded there but definitely worth a visit. Everyone seems to know each other or it was just me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank athena94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tremenheere also viewed

Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 
Penzance, Cornwall
Penzance, Cornwall
 

Been to The Tremenheere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing