We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful garden”
Review of Trewidden Garden

Trewidden Garden
Ranked #17 of 65 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

A visit to this garden is recommended. Tree ferns grow in the bowl of an early open cast tin mine & most are over 100 years old. There are also magnificent magnolias & camellias & all in natural setting. It's amazing & only been open to visitors for 12 years. Well worth a visit & good value for money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank doggiewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better in spring”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a pleasant garden, but really best seen in spring. In summer it is green with not much else. Trengwainton is better by far.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We pulled in to Trewidden by accident as we were looking for a cuppa on the way back from Lands End. What a result! A lovely cafe with really nice staff and beautiful, historic gardens to explore. We managed with a 1yr old in a buggy and our 10 yr old had a great time following the kids trail getting all the stamps. In the end we spent 2-3 hours exploring and looking at all the beautiful plants, and we are in no way keen gardeners. A lovely little calm oasis after the crowds at Lands End. The Kitchen Garden was a total suntrap. We loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We visited on a hot day in July and spent 2 very pleasant, cool hours here. Not a huge garen but plenty of interest and a magnificent tree fern pit. You can sit and picnic on the lawn area and I wished that we had time to stop longer. We did have drinks and cakes in the tea room, which were lovely and very reasonably priced. The lady who severd us was really friendly. Can't believe that we have missed this little gem on previously visits to the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank magicman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A walk in the woods”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Not a special garden like Trengwainton. Lady told us that the rough shale was just for the first few feet and then the paths would be easy for a buggy. Not so. This is not a garden for the disabled.

Was natural and unspoiled

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drag0n555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trewidden Garden also viewed

 

Been to Trewidden Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing