We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly spectacular gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trewidden Garden

Trewidden Garden
Ranked #16 of 64 things to do in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Truly spectacular gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We just missed the best of the rhode's, camellias and bluebells, but we were knocked back by the beauty of the gardens. Everywhere is so very natural and extremely lush. The most amazing spectacle were the abundance of the tree ferns, some were as large as trees. There are unobtrusive marker arrows directing one around the gardens which we found to be very helpful. The gardens are well protected from the wind so one felt quite warm even on a not so warm day! I can recommend a visit here without hesitation. The drive up to the start of the gardens is structurally walled on either side of the drive and is a feat of engineering in itself. There are some art studios near to the gardens which we visited too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful walk, with added tree ferns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very accessible, with a very useful map and a nice little tea-room where we paid our admission and were made very welcome, taking advantage of the very reasonably-priced refreshments on offer. There is a lot of interesting history here. We just loved the tree ferns and bluebells in the old mine depression/bomb crater, not to mention all the other trees [especially the very old palm] and the peaceful water feature. There are benches here and there on which to sit and relax, and enjoy the tranquil surroundings. This was our first visit and it won't be our last. It would be good to have a guided visit next time, so's we get the full story, but we were fine exploring at our own pace. Because it is just off the A30 west of Penzance you can easily make a full day's outing of it by combining this with somewhere like the Minack theatre, a tour of Trereife House, the Penzance/Newlyn art galleries or Chysauster Iron Age settlement, to name but a few local places well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VLN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“don't expect mixed borders!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

we had a guided visit with the very motivated head gardener
his explanations were clear, never too much and just long enough to appreciate the beauty of the garden.
in nice weather definitely worth visiting

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank isa638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Peaceful Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have been coming here for years. The garden is at its best between February and May (when the hundreds of camellias, magnolias and rhododendrons are in full bloom) but it's a delight to visit any of time of year. The secluded paths and beautiful trees are lovely to wander around and the tree ferns are probably more spectacular here, than any other garden in Cornwall. You can often stroll around and not see anything apart from plants and birds. There's a friendly little cafe as you enter/exit and a good quality plant shop. The informality means it's great for kids too (and there doesn't seem to be any problem taking a picnic).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Good gardens to visit. Went a little bit to early in the year though.will visit again later in the year

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank andypaul105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trewidden Garden also viewed

 

Been to Trewidden Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing