We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shiver me timbers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Admiral Benbow

Admiral Benbow
Ranked #6 of 180 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shiver me timbers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's literally like the inside of an old galleon! Some people might say cheesy, but I loved it! Great beers and ciders, friendly staff and good value. We didn't eat but the food looked great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robbie414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    209
    63
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feel like a pirate in penzance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the admiral on our last night in penzance, I'm glad we did, the photographs do not do this place justice. Every corner, nook and cranny is packed full of nautical memorabilia, it's like we were eating in a pirate ship. The staff were extremely bubbly and very helpfull. The food was good value for money and enjoyable. Would recommend you visit if not to eat then just to have a look

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaffacrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This pub is like eating in a pirate ship. We booked on Monday and informed them we had a group of nine and we were celebrating an 18th birthday. They decorated the table with balloons and banners before we arrived and were more than attentive during our meal. The food was delicious and prepared to individual tastes. Nothing seemed too much trouble. This could have been a very difficult time for my niece as her father recently died but the staff bent over backwards to ensure we hade a great time. Thank you so much.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ange P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent experience, only went in for drinks but it's amazing place. You feel like you are on a very old ship with many places to hide away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
470 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“great decor. decent pint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

If in Penzance and looking for a pint, then you could do a lot worse than popping in here. The interior is unique and completely wacky. Not to be missed for this experience alone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Admiral Benbow also viewed

 

Been to Admiral Benbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing