We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick St Mary's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warwick St Mary's
Ranked #78 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very very nice stay here. Theo was wonderful, can't do enough to ensure guests are happy and comfortable. Relaxed and friendly place to stay and great location for walking to neighbouring villages or into town with good transport links too. Definitely our choice to stay when in Penzance. Thanks Theo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

So impressed, bit suprised with the comments on here. Room was fantastic, clean well decorated. The lady theo is absolutley a little gem will go out all the way for you. Breakfast was great overall excellent service room and food! See you next year

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Although making the relatively short journey from St Austell we decided to stay over in Penzance to attend the Festival of Rugby at the Cornish Pirates on 30-31 August. I must admit to being slightly worried on seeing the reviews after making the booking but our fears were unfounded and it is hard to understand the poor feedback.

Theo the hostess is a whirlwind of energy but cannot do enough for her guests. She is warm and welcoming taking time to show you to your room and check that everything is satisfactory.

The rooms are pretty much standard fare for a B&B in a Victorian townhouse, so no real surprises. Our room was en-suite (toilet, shower and sink), well decorated, tea making facilities and most importantly clean.

Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, the only minor gripes being it would have been nice to have some orange juice and a better quality sausages.

The location is very near the rugby ground and two minutes walk to the Promenade with the town centre is a 15 minute stroll along the sea front. Although it is does not have its own car park, there is plenty of parking along street and even in August I was able to park within sight of the front door!

All in all a decent B&B!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernowirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I find it hard to understand the very negative reviews listed for this place.
I booked quite late in the day and Theo (who runs the place) was very helpful on the phone
and informed me that she had upgraded me free of charge.
The B&B is a very pleasant 10/15 minute walk along the promenade from the centre of town.
The room she had upgraded me to was very bright and airy with lovely furnishings and there was no sign of the damp that other reviewers have mentioned.
Breakfast was excellent and Theo was extremely friendly and helpful throughout my stay.
I would definitely stay here again if I return to Penzance.

Room Tip: My room at the front of the house on the first floor was extremely bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately this B&B was a disappointment; although the welcome was good, the room, decor and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The bath in our room had a crack and must have leaked... The furnishings were old and very tired with grubby carpets and dubious bed linen. The furnishings in the public lounge were also tired and dirty.

The cooked breakfast was ok but the cereals etc. were all supermarket value brands.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penzance hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Room was advertised as having an ensuite, there was a shower in the room but the toilet was down the hallway. It was not clean, there were hairs and toenail clippings on the basin. Room smelt musky and had to open a window in the middle of the night. Pictures on the website didn't match the room. Extremely over priced for very poor accommodation, would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't choose the small double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeojStabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My 11 year old daughter and I stayed at this B&B for 4 nights at the end of August. The owner, Theo, is a lovely person who was extremely helpful and attentive. The breakfast/lounge room was very inviting and the breakfasts (full English) were fine, 'though it would have been nice to have had some other options, apart from just cereal and toast. Our room, however, was very damp and not well decorated - it just didn't feel like decent value for the £83.00 a night that I was being charged. Theo told me that we'd been 'upgraded' to this room, perhaps because it had a television. It also had a second (single) bed, which remained unmade until I asked for it to be made up. The room itself didn't look anything like the photos on the website, containing mismatched furniture and very dated decor. The bathroom was carpeted and very, very damp with signs of mildew. Both rooms were filled with room fresheners and baskets of pot pourri, which, even though they were so overpowering that I had to ask for some of them to be removed, didn't mask the damp smell.

The B&B is in a great location for people travelling with children, as it is very close to two excellent playgrounds (with areas for young children and areas that were fun for my 11 year old to play in). Were I rating this on Theo's hospitality, I would give it an excellent. However, the poor quality of the room we had, combined with the high price tag, means I'll be trying out another B&B next time I go to Penzance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littledulcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fountain Inn B&B
Fountain Inn B&B
#71 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#2 of 5 in Newlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick St Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick St Mary's

Property: Warwick St Mary's
Address: Warwick St. Marys Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Warwick St Mary's Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing