We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good value for money”
Review of The Slipway Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

The Slipway Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$6 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Slipway offers Fine Dining each evening from 6.00 - 9.00pm in our upstairs dining room overlooking the harbour whilst we have Street Food form £3.50 per dish downstairs all served in a very friendly cosey atmosphere.
maidenhead
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Really good value for money”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We want on the thus night £10 special steak deal. We were not expecting it to be that great but it was really lovely food and lovely staff.. Well done. We will be back next year !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gill52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Brilliant , food fantastic quality and appearance. The plates of food they produce look too good to eat . Very reasonable prices for quality of food. Very friendly staff. A very pleasant dining experience and we will definitely come again soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank El1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I've eaten once in the downstairs at discreetly intimate tables - champagne and street food - it was great; but then I took friends there for my birthday and we ate in the light upstairs dining room with fabulous views over the sea.. Excellent table service and presentation and probably the best food in a restaurant ever - we were all ecstatic and all had different dishes.I can't pigeon hole the menu as it was very original but never just flashy or silly - really delicious.
In some parts of the country this experience would cost far more so it's obviously not cheap - but great value, I'll certainly go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judith123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Somewhere special”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My 88 year old mother was staying with me and I wanted somewhere "special" to take her for Sunday Lunch. I decided to try Slipways. I was not at all dissapointed. Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome from the exceptionally helpful staff. We were escorted to our table which had a wonderful view over Mount's Bay. Our roast beef arrived, superbly cooked and beautifully presented along with a plentyful selection of seasonal vegetables. This was followed up with, for me, the best Sticky Toffee pudding I have ever tasted and my Mother has never stopped talking about the superb Champagne Sorbet and berries that she selected. I would certainly recommend Slipways for Sunday Lunch and I intend to pay another visit - very soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We chanced on this restaurant on a drizzly evening, sat downstairs in a little alcove and thorougly enjoyed a selection of delicious and nicely presented 'street food' with a glass or two of wine and beer. The service was efficient and staff members were pleasant. It's not cheap but prices are in keeping with the restaurant. The fresh decor was a nice change from low beams and historical clutter. We'd love to try it again on a sunny day so we could enjoy the views upstairs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slipway Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing