We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is definitely a place to relax in complete...”
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty
Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Relax in the sitting room with views over the gardens and orchard
The exceedingly well equipped kitchen
Twin  room
Half tester bed with silk drapes in the master bedroom
Friendly horses
Free rangers!
Enjoy afternoon tea in the summerhouse
Relax on a patio in the sunshine
Daffodil fields to enjoy
Peacefully located Boscrowan is a gateway to the Far West of Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ceciliamo...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“This is definitely a place to relax in complete comfort”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Now I must make this clear. We visited Boscrowan in May 2010 and again in May 2012, not in 2013. However, I was not aware that it was on TripAdvisor and I wanted to put this right by adding a review. We stayed in the cottage, Ring and Thimble. When one arrives at the cottages, the first thing that is apparent is that this is a very pretty location tucked away well away from the road. The second vision is that of Elizabeth's beautiful garden which lies opposite the cottages. The cottages are filled with everything one could want and more besides. The quality of the renovation and furnishings are of the highest quality. A considerable amount of thought has been put into making one's stay in the cottage a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. In the kitchen of Ring and Thimble there is a cooker and an Aga. I had no experience of using an Aga but during our stays I used nothing but the Aga. Elizabeth and David, both very busy people, are approachable and extremely friendly whenever one needs them and they always make time to chat to you. There are a couple of dogs and cats who become your friends during one's stay! There are very pretty hens wandering around and one can purchase their eggs which are very flavoursome. We saw baby ducks being incubated. There are herbs growing in pots around the cottage for one's use. In the cottage, when one arrives, are vases of flowers from Elizabeth's garden in all the rooms. There is a roll top bath in the bathroom as well as a shower. In the sitting room are files with leaflets and booklets telling one everything that one needs to know about the area, where to visit, where to eat etc etc There is nothing, absolutely nothing that I can fault from our 2 stays at the cottage. We shall be returning again and again over subsequent years. The location is a good one for visiting, Sennan Cove, Lands End, St Michaels Mount, Mousehole and many other places, nothing is too far away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"The only way to stay"”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This was our 14th stay at Peace and Plenty, Boscrowan, since our first visit at the end of December 2001. It has become our much treasured holiday fixture for Christmas and New Year, plus a couple of other times. Not to mention, several solo stays at the adjacent Ring and Thimble Cottage. So often, self-catering holiday accommodation is described as “home from home”. The two cottages at Boscrowan are not only fantastic homes but, more importantly, they are wonderful retreats from home, away from the demands and stresses of everyday life. Here we have Elizabeth and David, who strive so consistently at ensuring that both cottages provide every possible aspect of living and personal comfort. Peace and Plenty and Ring and Thimble are extra special in that they provide an extremely pleasing atmosphere, great comfort and superb ambience through a most agreeable, high standard mixture of decoration, furnishing, curtains, pictures, paintings, equipment etc. We also view the beauty of the holiday cottages at Boscrowan in that every visit brings new delightful additions and items, geared towards making the guests feel even more comfortable and welcome. There is simply no deterioration of quality at Boscrowan, only improvements. Not to mention the quiet location of the two cottages, not far from Penzance and St Ives, St Michael’s Mount, the sea, public transport, good restaurants , and the many wonderful spots along the Cornish coast. And, of course, the delicious cream tea on arrival. Definitely the best we could ever wish for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aecu
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cottage hideaway”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Ring and Thimble is the perfect cottage hideaway. Beautifully decorated with wonderful attention to detail throughout. Elizabeth and David have thought of everything. From the homemade welcome afternoon tea to the fresh homegrown vegetable delivery, it was the perfect stay and a truly relaxing place to spend Christmas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDHOLDEN
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A gorgeous and atmospheric cottage”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in March 2012

In peaceful and lovely surroundings, where you are free to wander where you wish, sits Ring and Thimble, a perfect cottage where the standard of accommodation never falls below perfect.
In our experience the standard of many holiday cottages deteriorates as time goes by, but at Boscrowan the cottages are immaculate and beautiful year after year.
Many special touches throughout with everything you could really want to make your holiday one to remember for a long time to come.
Treat yourselves - you won't want to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuffedDad...
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay whatever the season”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at Peace and Plenty at Boscrowan last week, in a week of very mixed weather. We took advantage of the offer to bake our own Christmas cake. Apparently you can do this if you stay between now and Christmas. All the ingredients provided. The kids got stuck in and loved it and we found plenty to do between rain showers. Feeding the chickens, ducks, horses, dogs and cats went down especially well and of course the scenery was as beautiful as ever. Always a warm welcome and we shall definitely be going back whatever the season and whatever the weather. We would definitely recommend it as a family place to stay and being in the UK means easy family travel, just bung everything in the car and set off. We even came back feeling relaxed, A rarity for half term these days. Thank you to Liz and David for your hospitality and thanks to the animals for keeping us busy and amused.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernie510
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 4 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This was our second stay at Peace and Plenty and it was every bit as good as we remembered it. The location is wonderful because you feel like you're in the middle of the countryside but you're only about 5 minutes drive from Penzance and the sea.

There was a lovely welcome basket which included really tasty apples for cooking from the orchard. There were also home-made scones and a delicious home-made blackberry jam. If you like to cook the kitchen is superb because there is everything you need to do so. We bought very fresh fish from Turner's at Newlyn.

The main thing to say about Boscrowan is that is such a relaxing place to be. If you have any questions such as where to buy things or where to eat then Elizabeth is always happy to help.

We plan to go back every year!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedRobbo7...
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quite Simply Superb”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend at Ring & Thimble. This is a superb holiday cottage ideal for a romantic break or to celebrate a special time. The owner Elizabeth could not have been more helpful or friendly. The owners have thought of everything you need for a wonderful stay.

We review alot of Cornwall cottages for www.handpickedincornwall.co.uk and Boscrowan is with out doubt one of the very best.!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing