We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The whole experience is wonderful”
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty
Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Relax in the sitting room with views over the gardens and orchard
The exceedingly well equipped kitchen
Twin  room
Half tester bed with silk drapes in the master bedroom
Friendly horses
Free rangers!
Enjoy afternoon tea in the summerhouse
Relax on a patio in the sunshine
Daffodil fields to enjoy
Peacefully located Boscrowan is a gateway to the Far West of Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
ceciliamo...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“The whole experience is wonderful”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018

We have just arrived home after our 5th visit. There will be a 6th! Our whole experience staying in Ring and Thimble has always been wonderful. If by any chance one needs something that isn’t in the cottage then one just has to ask Elizabeth or David and by magic it will appear!! Both the interior and exterior of the cottage is in exquisite order. Just take a look at the photos. The surrounding gardens are full of colour and beauty. One is very near to towns, National Trust and other similar gardens and beaches, nothing is very far away. I can’t recommend a stay in either this cottage or Peace and Plenty more highly. Peace and tranquility is easy to find here. There is a wildlife pond, hens and fresh eggs, a cat and a dog too. I could go on and on describing how lovely a stay here is but I won’t, I leave you to look at the photos and believe what you see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobbHenle...
henley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Autumn Break”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were both unwell on arrival and almost chose to stay at home. Thank goodness we didn't as our cottage Peace and Plenty and our hosts David and Elizabeth made us feel better immediately. The outstanding feature was the generosity of everything that was provided, from logs to picnic baskets, all was there to be enjoyed.
The cottage was extremely comfortable and clean and so peaceful. The cottage is surrounded by a lovely garden and enjoys an excellent location so close to Penzance. This, together with the wider area of Cornwall, means there is so much to see and do.
David and Elizabeth have thought of everything for the cottage and for the comfort of guests. We had the additional good fortune of sunny days at the end of October. Many people return - we shall too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Thank you for your very kind review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay despite arriving feeling under the weather. We hope you return too - there is no greater compliment for us than guests returning and some even regard Boscrowan as their second home and return year after year without fail! This works both ways too - keeps us on our toes to always keep the cottages looking as good if not better than for their last visit! Our location is such that you can never run short of new places to see, new restaurants to visit even if you come more than once a year to stay - which many of our guests do. It's so worth that longish trip down to the far west tip of Cornwall - once you are here you never need to travel very far for some wonderful days out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antsmith1...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly Beautiful”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My partner and I stayed at the wonderful peace and plenty for 1 week which went far too quickly. I don't think we have ever stayed at a more beautiful cottage than peace and plenty. Boscrowan farm is a truly beautiful, relaxing base where to explore Cornwall from.

Our host the lovely Elizabeth, could not be more welcoming and helpful. On our arrival to the cottage we were met with a smile and shown around the second cottage (which also looks amazing). We were then taken up the stairs to Peace and Plenty and wow! The open living area is on the first floor and so light and cosy. The bedrooms and two bathrooms are on the ground floor and the whole property is completely faultless. There was fresh homemade scones and jam (unbelievably tasty) on the kitchen table waiting for us, a trug of fresh vegetables (from the farm) were also placed in the kitchen. A complimentary bottle of homemade apple juice in the fridge (delicious). The information provided with regards to places to visit and things to do was a massive help. We would recommend visiting the national trust Trenwainton (please excuse the terrible spelling) gardens about a mile away. Brilliant tea room and beautiful gardens and little book shop.
Another recommendation would be to visit St. Michaels Mount in nearby Marizion. We had a meal at the Godolphin Arms on our last night and walked back along the promenade to the car park, really beautiful scenery. You can walk from Peace and Plenty into Penzance which took us between 25-35 minutes. We visited Lands End which took us about 20 minutes in the car from Peace and Plenty. Likewise for driving to St. Ives park and train ride which is also a good day out.
Boscrowan farm is a brilliant base for people to go out and explore Cornwall. The accommodation is exceptional and its easy to see why people keep going back. We read the visitors book and so many people have been going back year on year- i don't blame them at all!
A massive thank you to Elizabeth for all her help in making us have a brilliant week. We even had a cracked windscreen during the week and Elizabeth made one call and a local garage repaired it the next day for a very reasonable fee. We thoroughly recommend the amazingly beautiful Peace and Plenty, enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you for your very kind compliments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in this truly special region of West Cornwall. There is so much to see and do that a week here is never long enough and our regular annual guests seem to always find new places to explore every time they return to Boscrowan. So we hope we may see you again one day too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceciliamo...
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The word wonderful says it all, all is provided and more besides. This was our 4th visit and I think that says it all. One week isn't long enough! But one has to do for us, but if you can go for 2 weeks then please do so. We stayed in Ring and Thimble which is for 2 people.

Elizabeth and David go our of their way to make one feel welcome.

I won't describe the beautiful exquisite cottage just read other people's comments. They are all true.

Can't wait for our next stay, we have just returned home and I am already suffering from withdrawal symptoms!

It is also situated in an area rich in Cornish culture, countryside, coastal paths, beaches, gardens, wild flowers etc etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! It is one of the greatest compliments to have guests return year after year when there are so many other self catering places in Cornwall that they could try should they choose. We like to make holidays here just that bit more special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit_trav...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Beautiful little cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just got back from a fabulous stay at Peace and Plenty. The cottage is beautifully furnished and very homely. We particularly enjoyed spending the evenings playing some of the many board games on offer in front of the log burner! The lovely cream tea provided on arrival was also a lovely touch.

The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. We tended to go out for lunch and cook a light dinner in the evenings and the cottage had all the facilities to do that. Furthermore, the owners very kindly provided a great array of fresh homegrown vegetables which was a treat and we made very good use of them! The bedrooms were also very comfortable.

We found that the cottage was a great base to go off and explore the beautiful countryside. We did a range of coastal, estuarine and inland walks as well as enjoying some great food in the local pubs.

Only slight criticism I would make is that although there was a very good selection of games and books, it would have been nice to have a few more recent DVDs available!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend Peace and Plenty to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, thank you for mentioning the DVDs - I am sure we can add to the collection for the future. We always welcome customer feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesDean...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We have found a gem & can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have holidayed in Cornwall for many years and have for the best part stayed in very nice places but Boscrowan beats the lot. There are two cottages next to eachother and we stayed in the Ring & Thimble which is the 1 bed thatched cottage. The owners, Elizabeth & David, are first-class hosts and everything you could possibly need and more is catered for in the cottage. It is spotlessly clean and wonderfully decorated - Elizabeth makes the soft furnishings and they are delightful. The Aga provides constant hot water, and so taking full advantage and relaxing in the lovely spacious bathroom in the roll-top bath is a necessity! Vases of beautiful flowers are in every room to welcome you, as well as home-baked scones, jams & clotted cream, a trug of seasonable vegetables, your own home-grown lettuce patch for your sole use, etc, etc. Their care and commitment really shows throughout and Elizabeth & David put so much effort in making your stay just perfect.

There are lots of places to eat nearby, fabulous beaches, you can tap into a bit of culture if you like by way of the Minack Theatre or the nearby galleries such as the Penlee Gallery in Penzance. Or you can just stay in and put your feet up with a good book - very therapeutic, try it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very kind compliments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Ring and Thimble and loved the cottage and also that you found the location so ideal to visit your favourite places without having to travel very far from here. What greater compliment for us than you booking your next 2 holidays here for next year and 2017 before you had left, even!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAS726
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just spent the week in Peace and Plenty at Boscrowan and thoroughly enjoyed staying in such a pretty, well equipped cottage. On our arrival we had a lovely greeting from Elizabeth and a wonderful afternoon tea was laid out for us to enjoy. The cottage is in a great position to explore the area. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the property, the property itself
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind compliments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. A holiday at Boscrowan wouldn't be complete without the homemade cream tea awaiting your arrival, the moment you walk in your cottage door! Our location has proven to be a very popular one over the years as there are so many iconic places - St Ives, St Michaels Mount, the Minack Theatre, Lands End, numerous beaches, to mention but a few, such a short distance away. It is ideal to be staying in the countryside yet 2 minutes walk from a very well stocked local store, also a pub, chemist, baker and Post Office. There's even a bus stop just 5 mins away if you come by public transport.

We hope you returned home relaxed and refreshed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;