We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Time! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Higher Pentreath Campsite
Hamworthy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Great value, 10 mins walk to the beach and relaxed attitude!!! Really loved this place. Owner was friendly and I'm sure we took up more space than we paid for! Loved running our dog and kite up the field! Would love to have another weekend like that!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeckyWarbisPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Higher Pentreath for two weeks with our kids aged 3&6. It was just a wonderful location, great for the beach and exploring SW Cornwall. It is well worth pitching in the top field for the coastline view - a delight to wake up to! The girls easily made friends - playing football, ball games and riding their bikes in the field. John and David were kind and helpful focused on a fair, affordable holiday experience. They let you charge your phone for free. Yes the washblocks look a bit tatty but are clean and with reliable electric powered hot showers I could not complain. Though there are only 4 for ladies and 2 for gents, so expect the odd queue. There is a washing machine, dryer and iron as well as 4 butler sinks for washing up. People had fires going (off the ground) in their BBQs which would have been the 'icing on the cake' for me, had we been prepared - next time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazbo_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Great campsite stayed a few times before and will again. Great views over the bay. Welcoming staff, Basic facilities but very cheap prices. Short walk to the beach. Worth a visit can't wait to go next year

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodhi415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We grabbed a few days in Praa Sands staying at this site. The field we were in looked out over the beach, so lovely views. On arrival we were met by a very relaxed and laid back chap that instantly made us really welcome. We were given a choice of 2 fields and allowed to pick our own spot to pitch our tent. The site is very laid back with basic facilities, which are ample. The fields slope so being able to pick your own spot is ideal. The beach, the pub and the beach café are just a short stroll down the road.
We enjoyed our stay, if you are looking for a relaxed, laid back place to relax you will to but if you are looking for a posh upmarket camp site this isn't the site for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
3.2 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Marazion Hotel
Marazion Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marazion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Praa Sands Holiday Park
Praa Sands Holiday Park
#6 of 17 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Nablus B&B
Nablus B&B
#1 of 2 in Praa Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Pentreath Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Pentreath Campsite

Property: Higher Pentreath Campsite
Address: Praa Sands, Penzance TR20 9TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Higher Pentreath Campsite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Pentreath Campsite Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing