We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, tiny rooms”

The Guest Lodge Penzance
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest Lodge Penzance
Ranked #58 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Melbourne,Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Tiny, tiny rooms”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at the guest house rooms attached to the Beachfield Hotel for two nights before and after a family trip to the Scilly Isles. While the hotel itself is lovely and the staff very friendly and helfpul, the converted stables where we had our rooms was another matter. While the rooms are quite new, they are possibly the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in in my life (and I've stayed in some small rooms). How small were they? Well if you sat on the side of the bed you could reach out and touch the wall with no difficulty. You could also use the end of the bed as a chair for the desktop carrying the tv etc. What made the claustraphobia worse was that there were no real windows in the rooms, only a narrow frosted glass window running along the top of one wall. The hotel also has a ridiculous key system for which you have to punch numbers in to the outside door and then to your room. The numbers are small and my elderly parents had great difficulty opening the doors at times. Those travelling with the elderly or others with mobility issues should be warned that there are quite a few steps to be negotiated.
Position on the beachfront at Penzance is great, and the hotel itself looked lovely, but I certainly wouldn't recommend the guest house rooms at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at The Guest Lodge Penzance, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Guest Lodge Penzance. The rooms are sold as you described, somewhere comfortable to sleep and should not be compared to the Beachfield Hotel, a different property but owned by the same people. The Guest Lodge is a no-frills, affordable accommodation. It is clean, comfortable and contains everything you need for a short stay. The Guest Lodge website describes the accommodation with photographs exactly as it is.

Regards
The Beachfield Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
18
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is really an off-shoot of the hotel on the corner and I suspect that the towels in the room were the hotel rejects as they were all frayed around the edges. The only windows were high on the wall so there was no view. The bed and bathroom were of reasonable size and quite adequate. Wifi internet was available in the main hotel lounge. The only parking was on street parking which may be a little difficult to find in busy times. I felt that this place was overpriced and therefore not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeLoveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed in the Guest Lodge for a lovely weekend recently. On arrival to the Beachfield Hotel, to which the guest lodge is just nextdoor we were greeted warmly. They even let us check in at 0900 due to our early arrival on the sleeper train from London! For £49 for the room per night, we weren't obviously expecting the Ritz, but what we got was a clean, warm and perfectly adequate double room with en-suite, tea & coffee, and even Freeview digital TV! The location was perfect - right on the sea-front and only a 10 minute coastal walk from the town, harbour and train station. Ok, so we didn't have a sea view, or luxuries like breakfast in bed and free slippers....but it was just what we needed. Really good value for money and I would have no hesitation in staying there again, or recommending it to friends and family who wanted an affordable weekend get-away!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityChix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Annexe of nearby hotel where you check-in - staff were pleasant. Keypad doors to annexe and room. Dreadful rank smell once through front door of annexe - but room clean and adequate and not smelly. Bed as hard as a park bench so a poor night's sleep....which is after all the primary reason to book somewhere. All walls made of studding, not brick, and if anyone anywhere slammed a door, you heard it.
I was stuck looking for somewhere at the last minute in the tourist season and it was ok - but for £50 you'd be better in a decent b'n'b.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photodealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penzance hotels

London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2005

I stayed in the 'Guest Lodge', which appears to be a converted upstairs office next door to the Beachfield Hotel (check in is through their reception, etc). The lodge is a non-corporate attempt at the new-style budget motels like F1 in France - eg. rather than some fully computerised system for check-in, I was given a keyfob with no key, but with labels giving the PIN codes for the front door, and my room. Unlike chain-motels where these are randomly generated for each stay, the Lodge had manual combination locks; I expect the codes aren't changed often, so I'd be wary of the security.

The whole Lodge (not the hotel that owns it) generally felt like an effort to expand by converting old offices into a hotel on the cheap - my room was about the size of a private office - just big enough for a reasonably comfortable double bed, with a tiny window opening onto a rooftop 'patio' at a height a kid outside could peer from outside-in (if open). The en-suite took a quarter of the "office's" space, and was newly fitted, modern and clean. Liquid soap/shower gel came from a wall dispenser.

I chose this place without research because it was the cheapest close to Lands End, where I was travelling for the day. The staff in reception next door, in our brief interaction, were helpful and friendly. It's location is right next to the Promenade, which may be handy.

For a good night's sleep, it was fine, but for visiting the area or staying a while, I wouldn't want to be here.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank damoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 83 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#61 of 83 in Penzance
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#45 of 83 in Penzance
265 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour View Guest House
0.4 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#60 of 83 in Penzance
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Lodge Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Lodge Penzance

Property: The Guest Lodge Penzance
Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Guest Lodge Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest Lodge Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing