We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average- but for somewhere to sleep that is all you need”

The Guest Lodge Penzance
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Guest Lodge Penzance
Ranked #68 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average- but for somewhere to sleep that is all you need”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed one night at the guest lodge after taking the night Riviera from London and a full day on Isles of Scilly. The accomodation was just right for simple nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The room was was very small but clean. It was very quiet and so we had a good night sleep. The hotel and rooms are accessed by entering the code and the reception is in nearby Beachfield hotel. It is a good hotel if you want to stay for couple of nights and your budget is tight.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiedoughchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We arrived expecting a glorified hostel and were delighted by the attention to detail which was evident throughout the Guest Lodge.
Rooms are on the small side, but there was loads of storage and the bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower.
Clean, comfortable and quiet.
Hotel staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming and helpful. Happy to accomodate our bikes.
Hotel location was ideal - easy to get into the town centre and station, but away from the noise!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Room is not very big but really comfortable and clean. The structure is new and elegant. The position is good (in front of the beach) and quite near to city center. Reception of the hotel where you have to check-in and to check-out is close to the guest house, the staff is friendly and easy-going. Just one night stay. good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The Guest Lodge is an annex of the Beachfield Hotel right next door. It's about 10 minutes away from Penzance rail/coach station by walking, and it's right on the beach front. The staff is very nice and helpful, and free wifi is provided in the BH lobby. There is a bus stop right across the street, so you can easily take Lines 300 or 1/1A to go to many major attractions such as Land's End, St. Ives and Minack's Theatre. Though the Guest Lodge is a good value for its price for a 2-night stay, breakfast is not included and you might be disappointed with the lack of coast view from your room. If you think these won't matter too much, then the Guest Lodge is for sure not a bad option.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ppqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed at the guest house rooms attached to the Beachfield Hotel for two nights before and after a family trip to the Scilly Isles. While the hotel itself is lovely and the staff very friendly and helfpul, the converted stables where we had our rooms was another matter. While the rooms are quite new, they are possibly the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in in my life (and I've stayed in some small rooms). How small were they? Well if you sat on the side of the bed you could reach out and touch the wall with no difficulty. You could also use the end of the bed as a chair for the desktop carrying the tv etc. What made the claustraphobia worse was that there were no real windows in the rooms, only a narrow frosted glass window running along the top of one wall. The hotel also has a ridiculous key system for which you have to punch numbers in to the outside door and then to your room. The numbers are small and my elderly parents had great difficulty opening the doors at times. Those travelling with the elderly or others with mobility issues should be warned that there are quite a few steps to be negotiated.
Position on the beachfront at Penzance is great, and the hotel itself looked lovely, but I certainly wouldn't recommend the guest house rooms at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at The Guest Lodge Penzance, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Guest Lodge Penzance. The rooms are sold as you described, somewhere comfortable to sleep and should not be compared to the Beachfield Hotel, a different property but owned by the same people. The Guest Lodge is a no-frills, affordable accommodation. It is clean, comfortable and contains everything you need for a short stay. The Guest Lodge website describes the accommodation with photographs exactly as it is.

Regards
The Beachfield Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is really an off-shoot of the hotel on the corner and I suspect that the towels in the room were the hotel rejects as they were all frayed around the edges. The only windows were high on the wall so there was no view. The bed and bathroom were of reasonable size and quite adequate. Wifi internet was available in the main hotel lounge. The only parking was on street parking which may be a little difficult to find in busy times. I felt that this place was overpriced and therefore not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeLoveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#46 of 82 in Penzance
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#56 of 82 in Penzance
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#45 of 82 in Penzance
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#61 of 82 in Penzance
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dock Inn
The Dock Inn
#33 of 82 in Penzance
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Lodge Penzance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Lodge Penzance

Property: The Guest Lodge Penzance
Address: The Promenade, Penzance TR18 4LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Guest Lodge Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest Lodge Penzance Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing