We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and peaceful site.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Valley Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing and peaceful site.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for 5 days Monday to Friday. We arrived slightly early and luckily we were able to check in as our caravan was ready. The caravan was clean and tidy. We were able to settle right in and get on with our holiday. The valley is lovely and quiet. There is WiFi across the site which we were given the password for but we couldn't use it as it was quite weak, which we warned about prior to us trying it. Overall, a great holiday! We would definitely stay there again!

Thanks River Valley!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    68
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
180
156
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently back from a short 4 day break staying at River Valley Country Park.
Being a short break, we were sadly too pressed for time to fully explore the park and immediate surroundings - but from what we did see of it, a very beautiful area of Cornwall.

The site itself was immaculate and the accommodation (we stayed in a Kestrel Deluxe Caravan) was spot on - cleaned and presented to a very high standard.
This caravan slept 8, one double and 2 twin rooms. There were just 4 of us though, so we had plenty of room, and with a bedroom each for our 2 older teen girls, arguments were avoided.

There's nature in abundance here - starting with the weirdest looking ducks we've ever seen who took up residence near the reception, numerous birds that wont attempt to name - although we definitely heard some owls at night.
Rabbits all over the place, and we even saw (sort of) some bats on their nighly fly-by's right past our caravan.

Entertainment on site? Well, there isn't any.....you make your own, and if you cannot do that, then bugger off to one of the far more expensive, and far more rowdy holiday parks....and leave the rest of us in peace lol.
The younger kids on the site seemed happy enough, one group of kids engaged in a traditional water fight, while another little lass delighted in telling us she'd been jumping in some leaves - Seriously, who needs play stations etc.

The one downside (although not really a downside to me....my older teens would differ - but only a bit) was the lack of signal and WiFi - you can get a mobile signal on some networks of you wander around, but WiFi was very slow and patchy until late at night.

The small shop at reception was adequately stocked, we fancied a cooked breakfast one morning, didn't have the stuff, but managed to get bacon, eggs, bread and milk from the reception shop....at a reasonable price too!

Signal and WiFi aside, (and who needs them really if you're on holiday?) I'd say this was the best holiday we've ever had.
We last visited Cornwall 18 years ago when our kids were little and this was a sort of 'coming full circle' in terms of family holidays - we visited the same areas as before, Land's End, the Lizard, St ives, Marazion, one or 3 fantastic beaches......all within an easy drive from Relabbus.

We now have plenty of 'then and now' pics of us and our kids (how I've aged! lol).

Thank you to River Valley for providing excellent accomodation at a great price and enabling us to have the best break ever.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had original booked a site closer to Newquay that we had stayed at before but after looking around we found the cost they wanted was well above what other sites including river valley were asking for a week in july (before the kids finished school).

We found this site by doing a Google search and were impressed by the location but more importantly the price for 1 week was nearly half as much as we were going to pay at the other site.

Its been 3 years since we have done a stay-cation in Cornwall mainly due to the poor summer weather but we got it correct this time nothing but blue sky and 25-32 heat, no better place in the world than Cornwall in the summer.

ARRIVAL
We arrived 1 hour before the official 3pm check in time but the lady behind the desk was more than happy to check us in early and gave us all the information we needed.

THE CARAVAN - Black 5
we booked a swallow caravan this is there most basic and smallest caravan but only being a couple and not needing a huge caravan it was more than big enough for us and we only use it as a base any way while out exploring Cornwall.

The main bedroom was OK but was a bit tight on space,but there was ample storage areas with the built in wardrobes and cupboards above the bed.
the bed was extremely hard and i found it difficult to get comfy and get a good nights sleep.

the second bedroom ( 2 single beds) i would only recommend young children in this room as it was very tight on space and the beds are both small in length and width

the bathroom was of an ok size, the shower tho was of a very good size and actually had a shower that didn't run either to hot or to cold as you normally find with these caravans.

the kitchen was of a very good size and has every thing you need already included there was also a nice welcome kit comprising of a dish cloth small washing up liquid etc,

the living area was also of a good size and was very comfortable for relaxing after a hard day also has a flat screen tv with some free view channels.

the caravan was very clean and looked a felt like it had been maintained well.

just a few down sides to mention -
1) the caravan was extremely hot we took our own fan but i think they should provide one.
2) the walls are very thin and poorly sound proofed we could quite easily hear every thing around us and made having a lie in or afternoon snooze difficult

THE SITE AND LOCAL AREA
The site is in the small village of Relubbus and is about 5-10mins from the A30 i don't recommend using the lanes to get to the site as people was using these as a rat run and taking little care on these tight and winding lanes.

the site is kept beautify and is in a stunning location,plenty of wild life and peace and quiet there isn't much in the local area the next village along Goldsithney has 2 pubs and a small newsagent's, a car is much needed

Penzance is only 10-15mins away and St ives is 20mins Lands end 30mins and Newquay and Padstow about 1 hour


The only problem we had was the people in caravan black 6 deciding to play load music in the afternoons im sorry but we don't come away to have peace and quiet and to relax and want to listen to your sound pollution.

We would happily recommend this site and are looking to book again but this time we will book a bigger caravan just for that little bit more space

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelinspectors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break at this lovely site. The setting is very tranquil, the perfect place to unwind and relax. This was our 4th visit to the site, even though it's a long way from our home in Stratford upon Avon, so I guess we must really love it. We certainly do love the beautiful riverside setting, the wonderful flora and fauna, the great condition of the caravans and the friendly, helpful staff, who always have time to talk to you and do their best to help with any requests you might have. We will definitely be back!

Rob and Liz Woodwardf

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RwEw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked for one week in june , fell in love with river valley and ended up staying for five.Booked a kingfisher deluxe, which was new for 2014. with all the home comforts, comfortable bed , powerful shower and well equipped kitchen.The caravans are cleaned to a very high standard as is the site, no litter or mess, and the lawn areas around the accommadation well kept.The laundry is well equipped, it even has its own iron and ironing boards. There is a lovely riverside walk with lots of wildlife to see. The staff are helpful and nothing is to much trouble which went a long way to making it a wonderful stay.Most people say they will definitely return, well we have already booked to return for two weeks in September i think that says it all .PERFECT.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at river valley in the 3 bedroom willow lodge with our two daughters aged 15 months and 14 years of age. The lodge was perfect for everyone, bedrooms very spacious with plenty of wardrobe space. Open plan living and dining which was also spacious but incredibly cosy. Just like a bungalow. Our 15 month old slept very well all week from the first night which was a pleasant surprise! You need a car due to location but all big supermarkets were a short, easy drive away. This for us didn't matter as the wildlife is very much worth it. I had a robin feeding out of my hand, visit from a Jay while having my morning coffee in the sunshine! We had a worry after discovering a wasps near the door to the lodge on the first evening but this was removed carefully by a professional first thing the next morning, ladies on reception were extremely friendly, helpful and swift resolving this. We visited places in all directions, north, south, east and west. The longest drive was just over half hour with the shortest being ten mins. We already plan a stay here next year, wonderful place, wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanath82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a Mon to Fri midweek break and couldn.t recommend it highly enough. The caravan was spotless had all the facilities we could want and the peace oh so good. No noisy bars, burger, houses ,kids play groups or swimming pools just a spotless site run by very friendly and welcoming staff. After a busy day out and about it was lovely to sit in the late sun and not have any noise apart from the birds. Local wildlife spotted included ,pigeons, magpies ,green woodpecker , buzzards and rabbits by the score which was lovely to see. If you want a quiet base to explore from there are caravans of varying size and even wooden homes with hot tubs on the balcony to relax in after a hard day sightseeing. Penzance and Helston 15 mins away and the little shop on site sells basics (like bread ,milk etc. )if needed. Well worth it if the peace is what you want. Not for families who have children who need amusing all day there are other sites for that. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank paulnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
5.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
23.6 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
St. Ives Holiday Village
St. Ives Holiday Village
#19 of 21 in St Ives
914 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wheal Rodney Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Valley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley Country Park

Property: River Valley Country Park
Address: Relubbus, Penzance TR20 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — River Valley Country Park 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Valley Country Park is tranquility at it's best, with 18 acres of green countryside to forget the hassle of modern day living.The partly wooded park near St Michaels Mount, is situated in one of the most picturesque valleys in Cornwall being just a few miles from both the North & South Coast & their sandy beaches.The location along the bank of our clear, shallow stream invites you to relax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your River Valley Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Valley Country Park Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing