We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Royal
Ranked #34 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Recently stayed at the Mount Royal Penzance. Service fantastic, view from room excellent looking over bay and St Michaels Mount. In walking distance of all amenities. Room spacious, clean and comfortable. Spent three nights and slept soundly every night. Traditional service which I thought was well gone. Breakfast was good, Silver Service style. The staff at the hotel are superb, nothing seemed too much trouble. Parking on site also excellent, plenty of parking spaces. Wifi service free and trouble free.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms have a sea view. Room 4 is an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EamonRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for you excellent review of Mount Royal! We are delighted that you enjoyed our 'traditional' customer-focussed service including complete silver service at breakfast. We pride ourselves on being one of the very few establishments that bring an entire breakfast order to the table from start to finish (no self service), and all made or cooked fresh to order using the finest local produce, served on fine Wedgwood crockery and enjoyed overlooking the outstanding and unrivalled views across Mounts Bay. We do hope that you will return to Mount Royal as we really enjoyed having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Visiting from the U.S., we recently spent four nights in this hotel while visiting western Cornwall, We recommend it highly. Lovely room, beautiful and ever-changing sea view, steps from the train station -- as well as the bus station which will take you everywhere you want to go in Cornwall. We spent a day in St. Ives, a day in Land's End, and several days walking around the environs of Penzance. Thomas and Melinda are gracious hosts who are doing a great job running their charming property. No complaints at all -- we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for you lovely review and compliments about our property! The views of the sea here are wonderful as you say - ever changing depending on the time of day, the levels of light over the bay, the strength of the wind, the calmness or wildness of the sea with the waves rolling in, the tides, changing colours of the water, the leisure boat activity and surfers having fun, the wildlife (dolphins, seals, diving birds seen across the bay), and the wonderful over-sea cloud formations in the sky. From our front sea facing windows it is really like being on a cruise ship at sea! We'd love to see you again and we look forward to you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Both my wife and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel over a weekend to go to a wedding. The level of service was superb, room was very clean, loads of wardrobe space and the view from our room was fantastic over the bay towards St Michaels Mount and round to Newlyn, they even had binoculars in the room to help you with the views. Thomas and his wife made us very welcome, there was a wide choice of food at breakfast, nicely presented in the dining room and very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, even when I had trouble with my car they manged to help me.
Would definitely use this hotel again if we are in West Cornwall and have no hesitation in recomending this Hotel as a place with excellent traditional values of service.

Room Tip: Front rooms have excellent views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonnyb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Mount Royal and thank you for staying in 2012. We are pleased that you noted our 'traditional values of service'. We are proud of the high level of good old fashioned customer service we offer here - a legacy of Mount Royal being a successful family run business in Penzance for over 45 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Mount Royal Hotel. It was only a five minute walk away from Penzance train and bus station so was a perfect base for exploring the local area. Whilst being so well located, we didn't notice any noise from the road. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel as a whole was beautifully decorated, with many Victorian features such as the lovely fireplace in the dining room where we ate our breakfasts. Our breakfasts were plentiful and tasty, with many different options available, and were served by friendly and attentive staff. We felt very welcome here and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Penzance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kit_7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us in 2012 and for leaving us a great complimentary review highlighting so many of our best points! We are very grateful and so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We warmly welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My partner and I were in Cornwall to stay in St Ives for a few days and visited Penzance in the hope of finding accommodation. Fortunately Mount Royal had vacancies. We were greeted by Thomas he gave a nice room with panoramic views of St Michaels Mount and the bay, it was perfect. Binoculars were provided to survey the views which was a nice touch. Breakfast was good and the internet worked perfectly. Would go back again if ever visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eclipse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mount Royal Hotel. Superb room with super view of St Michael's Mount, binoculars were provided too to admire the view. Beautifully clean room and delicious and substantial breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and we will be returning to this lovely hotel. Would highly recommnend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186258Chr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is a first-rate hotel. Mr & Mrs Cox were thoroughly accommodating. The location is excellent & the view over Mount's Bay is exquisite. The room was comfortable & immaculately clean. The bed was excellent. The daily housekeeping service was perfect. The breakfast was cooked to order & delicious. It was professionally served. This was the only good coffee we had during 6 weeks in Britain. The guests' lounge was comfortable, clean & well-lighted. There was a small library of local books & maps. We would be delighted to stay at Mount Royal Hotel any time. Prior to travel Mr. Cox responded to inquiries promptly. This is an indicator of someone who values his guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1BigJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Manager at Mount Royal, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for this great review and thank you to ALL previous reviewers who have complimented us so generously!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 17 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#53 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#33 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#59 of 82 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal

Property: Mount Royal
Address: 1 Chyandour Cliff, Penzance TR18 3LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated 4 Star Gold 'Guest Accommodation' by the AA and offering quality seafront bed and breakfast, Mount Royal in Penzance is an elegant part Georgian, part Victorian house and has been a successful family run business since 1963. Guests can experience bright and spacious individually designed rooms with unique period decor, luxury and bespoke furnishings, classical William Morris designed wallpapers, and silver cutlery and quality Wedgwood crockery at breakfast. Mount Royal offers guests free on-site parking and garages (on request). Experience outstanding sea views of Mounts Bay with the convenience of being ideally close to all of the main transport connections to explore West Cornwall. Mount Royal also has free superfast Wifi enhanced by fibre optic broadband to the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mount Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing