We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penrose Guest House
Ranked #41 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Penrose Guest House. Marc and Anne were delightful and took good care of us. The breakfast room was cheery and the food was delicious and came quickly. At 70 GBP per night for our weekly stay, the value was excellent. The only downside was that the room was warm (the weather was unusually warm) and the window didn't generally provide a lot of ventilation; but we were given an electric fan, which was very helpful.

Oh, and the seagulls can be loud; earplugs could be useful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattInAustin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello Matt and Holly, It was lovely to meet you both and many thanks for your lovely comments and, taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Best wishes,
Marc and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Me and my husband just came back from Penzance.We stayed in Penrose for 3 nights.Ann and Marc are such a great and friendly couple! Room and bathroom was spotless! Brekfast just fantastic! I wasn't a big fan of full English but change my mind now! Just few minutes walk from the bus and train station but very quiet street.We will come back for sure! Maggie and Paul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hello Maggie and Paul.
Many thanks for your lovely comments and taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Anne and Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed there with our 5 years old doughter in May for tree nights .Marc and Ann were both very friendly.The room was clean was screen tv on the wall and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities........,delicious breakfast each morning......great location...quiet but close to the city center

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for you lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Your daughter was a gem. You must be well proud of her! We would love to meet you again.
Best wishes,
Marc and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My girlfriend and i had a very enjoyable stay. Marc and Anne were very pleasant and courteous. As we were going to the Isle of Scilly we stayed one night before and after our visit. The distance from the Port is about 15mins which is ideal. We stay in different rooms each time and both were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast is great and access in and out is very easy. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank burpsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Many thanks for the lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay and love to meet you again in the future.
Marc and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The saying goes that 'you get what you pay for'. Well, now and then you can get more.
The room was clean & comfortable, lovely breakfast and a warm and friendly welcome from a genuinely nice couple, who were extremely helpful, providing great advice so that we could make the most of our short stay. The location is also ideal. We will definately stay here again if we are in the area.Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hello Mike and Lou,
Thank you so much for the review. Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best wishes,
Marc and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We felt very welcome and were feeling at home and got access to the en-suite bedroom in less than 2 mins ! How great is that after a 3hrs+ trip from Tavistock.

Mark and Anne also gave us good advice on what to see in and around Penzance.

We definitely recommend this place for experienced travellers and young bag packers too !



B & H

Room Tip: follow your first impression
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VIGNERON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay. We would love to see you both again in the future.
best wishes
marc and anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Good value for money, good service and good standards = good choice! Would definitely stay again! It's in a brilliant location and was a minute away from the europcar drop off point. Hosts were very welcoming!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
821 reviews
0.0 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#6 of 19 in Penzance
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#63 of 82 in Penzance
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Dock Inn
The Dock Inn
#33 of 82 in Penzance
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 82 in Penzance
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#55 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Guest House

Address: 8 Penrose Terrace, Penzance TR18 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marc and Anne would like to welcome you to Penrose Guest House - our small, friendly, 4 Star guest house. We offer high quality bed and breakfast accommodation with en-suite or private facilities. Penrose Guest House is located close to the bus and train stations and only a few minutes walk from the town centre, amenities and harbour. We are close to, but not on, the main road and many guests have commented how quiet our street is. Unrestricted parking is available on the public roads around Penrose, or a pay and display car park is 5 minutes walk away.Penrose Guest House is a Grade II Listed Georgian building approximately two hundred years old, maintaining many of its original features. It is ideally situated for easy access to the town centre with its many shops and restaurants. We are open all the year round and have central heating. Free WIFI internet access is available throughout the premises.In addition we provide a laptop for guests’ use, free of charge, in our dining room , where there is also a free book and DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penrose Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing