We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrose Guest House
Ranked #35 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The rooms are exceptionally clean, hosts are absolutely lovely, the place is 3 minutes walk from Penzance rail station, breakfast is wonderful. it was a really lovely place to start a holiday in cornwall

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank displayname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Many thanks for the review and lovely comments.
It is good you enjoyed your stay with us.
Marc and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
49
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I travelled to Penzance to take part in a cetacean survey between there and the Isles of Scilly, being pregnant and travelling alone I wanted to stay somewhere I felt secure and comfortable, and after research, found Penrose Guest House on here and read all the great reviews so got in touch with them immediately.
I was not disappointed - the reviews were all spot on, Anne & Marc are both so friendly and kind, I felt welcome as soon as I arrived.
The location of their lovely place is perfect, a few minutes walk from the promenade and high street, really close to the train station, and such a pretty place too!
My room was lovely, the sound of seagulls and birds outside my window, clean and really comfortable room, I had two great nights sleep!
The breakfasts were delicious - I had a full English my first morning, followed by a cheese omelette the second. Each morning greeted by both Anne and Marc for a friendly chat and to check I was ok.
They took away any nerves I had about being in a new place on my own, and I really felt relaxed as soon as I arrived. I'll definitely be back with my husband, you won't regret staying here, it really is home from home!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess_Milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Tessa,
What lovely comments! Thank you very much for the review. We are so glad you were so comfortable here. We hope all goes well with the baby and hope to see you all in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We decided to go down on the train and stay at penrose so we could do some walking. Lovely, friendly hosts, warm welcome, nice double en-suite room with great power shower and good breakfast to get you fuelled up for a walk. Clean and warm and excellent value. Ideal location near station but quiet !
Thanks for a lovely stay. A&J

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Simon and Jenny,
Many thanks for the positive review.
We are glad you enjoyed the stay/ Hope you will bear us in mind for any future walking breaks in Cornwall.
Marc and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here with my wife in March 2014. It was excellent. Our hosts were lovely, the room was nice, breakfast was good, and it was good value. It is also very close to the town centre. The only problem was parking, but that seems to be everywhere in Penzance. Penrose Guest House does not have private parking, so you have to try your luck on the street, and make sure you don't park where there are yellow lines painted on the side of the road. We were able to find somewhere each time but it was certainly a tight fit. The alternative is the nearby pay parking car park. Overall though I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_NR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Rod,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Glad you enjoyed the stay.
Sorry about the parking, but it is a problem throughout Cornwall.
We don't have the wide open spaces you have in Australia.
A good test of your driving skills though!
Hope all is well and to meet again in the future.
Marc and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hadn't come across this establishment before, but will be coming back. The room was clean and well fitted, included free wi-fi and boasted a very efficient shower. Made to feel welcome from the outset. Breakfast was of a high quality and cooked to order. Great value for money and very convenient for the town centre!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QQQQQQZQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Tim,
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Marc and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were made very welcome by Marc and Anne. We stayed in the double room which was very clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The location is quiet but very near the town and station. It is also very close to a good choice of places to have dinner including The Old Lifeboat Station. The Penrose Guest House was very good value and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Liz and Geoff,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and your nice comments. It was good you could make it to stay at last. We are very pleased you enjoyed your trip and hope you may return in the future.
Best wishes,
Marc and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Although we only stayed for one night with Anne and Marc we felt very much at home .We were made very welcome and looked well looked after.We stayed in the twin room with en suite which was very clean,comfortable and with all provisions necessary and plenty of tea,coffee hot chocolate and milk and biscuits, It was good to see a jug of water too. The beds were so comfortable as well. The breakfast was delicious!- plenty of choice and plenty of food! -we didn't eat again until mid afternoon ( a pasty each which we took onto the train for our return home!) .Penrose Guest House is perfectly situated for train arrival, only 3 minutes from the station and with the bus station next to it theres no need to take the car! The bus service in the area is brilliant! There is a good choice of places to eat- we chose The Turks Head.
This was our first visit to Penzance (our 47th wedding anniversary) and when we go again we will certainly stay here and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone else.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrose_8, Owner at Penrose Guest House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Jill,
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, even though it was brief. Would love to meet you both again if you are ever back down.
Best wishes,
Marc and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
796 reviews
0.0 mi away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 19 in Penzance
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#61 of 82 in Penzance
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#7 of 82 in Penzance
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#46 of 82 in Penzance
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#62 of 82 in Penzance
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrose Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrose Guest House

Property: Penrose Guest House
Address: 8 Penrose Terrace, Penzance TR18 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrose Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marc and Anne would like to welcome you to Penrose Guest House - our small, friendly, 4 Star guest house. We offer high quality bed and breakfast accommodation with en-suite or private facilities. Penrose Guest House is located close to the bus and train stations and only a few minutes walk from the town centre, amenities and harbour. We are close to, but not on, the main road and many guests have commented how quiet our street is. Unrestricted parking is available on the public roads around Penrose, or a pay and display car park is 5 minutes walk away.Penrose Guest House is a Grade II Listed Georgian building approximately two hundred years old, maintaining many of its original features. It is ideally situated for easy access to the town centre with its many shops and restaurants. We are open all the year round and have central heating. Free WIFI internet access is available throughout the premises.In addition we provide a laptop for guests’ use, free of charge, in our dining room , where there is also a free book and DVD library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penrose Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penrose Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing