We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Victorian Era B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #17 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shell Cove, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Victorian Era B&B”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dunedin for 4 nights. The B&B is located in a well cared for Victorian Terrace in a quite tree lined street with similar era terraces. Dunedin was close to town and Mounts Bay a short walk down the street. There was ample on street parking for our car. The B&B was well maintained and cared for. Our room was of a good size with a large bathroom (shower but no bath). My wife did take offence at a notice asking client not to use the white towels to dry her face in case residue makeup might satin them. Why have white towels!
Our room was comfortable, the staff very polite and helpful. Breakfast was Full English and of good quality. You would be hard pressed to find a better B&B in Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    39
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
68
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Dunedin is located in the center of Penzance with easy access to the train station and a lovely park. The street is quiet. The B&B is located in a character home (there are stairs) with a large breakfast area. The hosts are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was generous and of very good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiva5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unadilla, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved our stay and John accommodated us coming in late on our first night. The Rose Room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The bathroom was huge compared to the one in our London hotel previous to our trip to Cornwall. One "alert" for those considering the Dunedin - which is not their fault at all - we reserved the Dunedin through Booking.com, but the online service didn't mention that to pay for our stay, the proprietors required cash. Even though that was a shock, John was gracious and gave us directions to the nearest bank. I see in other reviews some had mentioned location and I agree - easy to park the rental car, walk to city center or to the bay side of Penzance. The street is tree-lined and I imagine that it is so beautiful in the fall. The breakfast was ok, but they didn't have gluten-free items. We bought gluten free bread at a grocery store which they gladly toasted for us in the morning. Overall, was a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend the Dunedin!

Room Tip: The Rose Room was spacious and delicately decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is fantastic place to stay in penzance, located 5 mins walk from beach and 20 mins from station you get everything you can ask for! Rooms are clean, spacious and customer service is impeccable! I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Penzance and cornwall

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Dunedin joins a series of guest houses on a very pretty leafy street just a few minutes away from the town center. We were very happy when we walked up the steps and saw the place we had booked. The room was excellent, as were the breakfasts, as were the travel tips that John happily and competently provided. You will be most satisfied staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirledPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Quite a noisy road, not the best sleep. Triple room good as it's actually 2 adjoining rooms. Small functional clean bathroom, unfortunately carpet on the floor. Awesome breakfast and friendly although slightly reticent staff. I don't blame them as I overheard some difficult customers that they were coping with beautifully.
Overall would recommend, Cornwall is beautiful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NPP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were looking for a place to stay while in Penzance where we could enjoy both the local experience as well as the surrounding area. The Dunedin Guest House fulfilled that completely. An easy walk to catch a local bus that circles a beautiful part of Cornwall (ask John for the details) and an easy walk along the seaside Promenade to downtown.

As other reviews have noted the hosts are very helpful and well informed. They also listen -- well done!

Room Tip: We had room number #1, right at the top. Some stairs to climb but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAKline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#6 of 82 in Penzance
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#34 of 82 in Penzance
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#7 of 82 in Penzance
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 82 in Penzance
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunedin Guest House

Property: The Dunedin Guest House
Address: Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunedin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin is a large Victorian house dating from 1886 and is AA 4-Star rated, it has 8 tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with modern en-suite shower, wash basin and WC together with Free-view digital colour TV, DVD player, radio alarm, hair dryer, cooling fan and tea/coffee making facilities.The Dunedin is situated in a wide and tree-lined avenue leading to the seafront, with its long promenade and sheltered bay and there is unrestricted parking on both sides and for most of Alexandra Road and the adjoining roads.Situated on the edge of town, but within a few short minutes walk of the centre and the seafront, Dunedin is in the ideal position to visit all the many and reasonably priced pubs, restaurants and other attractions in Penzance. Breakfast is served in our bright and airy dining room, which is situated on the ground floor, and there is a selection of cereals, chilled fruit juices and segments and cooked to order main courses to suit a variety of tastes and preferences.We offer our Guests free and unrestricted access to the Internet via our BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband WIFI, please ensure your laptop has a radio card, a firewall and appropriate virus protection. BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband is available 24 hours a day and please inquire for details of the password to access the network. Here we pride ourselves on our welcoming atmosphere and, should you decide on a holiday or a short break with us, we will certainly do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Please note that the Dunedin is totally non-smoking. Payment: We do not have a credit/debit card facility and therefore do not make a charge for this. We do accept Sterling cheques, traveller's cheques, cash or BACS. Please note, we do not accept children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Hotel Penzance
The Dunedin Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing