We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless,Friendly and comfortable B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #17 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spotless,Friendly and comfortable B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

From the moment we stepped through the front door we were made welcome by John. He is a mine of information regarding the area. The Dunedin is located in a quiet street only a couple of minutes from the sea front with Newlyn only a mile away and Mousehole 3 miles away. The town centre can reached on foot within 10 minutes or so either by road or through the adjacent park.
The Dunedin is probably the best B & B I have ever stayed in being spotlessly clean and offering an extensive breakfast menu cooked to order. It's reputation has spread beyond our shores as was demonstrated during our stay because most of the 8 bedrooms were occupied by overseas guests. Breakfast time was like a gathering of the United Nations.if you are visiting Penzance this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowlerlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    37
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
68
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dunedin during a hot spell in Penzance. The room is comfortable and spacious. John was helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was lovely.The location is ideal and within walking distance to the town where there are plenty of pubs to have food.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider booking there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our 3 night stay at the Dunedin Guest House was a very enjoyable experience. The Dunedin is well situated in a quiet, leafy street, but within walking distance to the town centre, eateries and the beach promenade. If you are arriving by train as we did, it is a short taxi ride to the guesthouse. The room we stayed in was pleasantly furnished and exceptionally clean. The owners were helpful but unobtrusive. Breakfasts were served in a friendly manner and the offering was of a high standard. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stairs may be an issue if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent two nights at Dunedin recently while visiting Cornwall. It's a really lovely Victorian-era B&B. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and had plenty of sunlight and fresh air. John and Linda clearly take a lot of pride in running this B&B and it shows in everything from the spotless premises to the wide variety of good food available at breakfast. John was very friendly and helpful when we checked in and out. The location is decent, being fairly close to both the harbour and the town centre. Parking is free and readily available too. If I visit Cornwall in the future, I will definitely be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dunedin for 4 nights. The B&B is located in a well cared for Victorian Terrace in a quite tree lined street with similar era terraces. Dunedin was close to town and Mounts Bay a short walk down the street. There was ample on street parking for our car. The B&B was well maintained and cared for. Our room was of a good size with a large bathroom (shower but no bath). My wife did take offence at a notice asking client not to use the white towels to dry her face in case residue makeup might satin them. Why have white towels!
Our room was comfortable, the staff very polite and helpful. Breakfast was Full English and of good quality. You would be hard pressed to find a better B&B in Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Dunedin is located in the center of Penzance with easy access to the train station and a lovely park. The street is quiet. The B&B is located in a character home (there are stairs) with a large breakfast area. The hosts are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was generous and of very good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiva5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unadilla, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved our stay and John accommodated us coming in late on our first night. The Rose Room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The bathroom was huge compared to the one in our London hotel previous to our trip to Cornwall. One "alert" for those considering the Dunedin - which is not their fault at all - we reserved the Dunedin through Booking.com, but the online service didn't mention that to pay for our stay, the proprietors required cash. Even though that was a shock, John was gracious and gave us directions to the nearest bank. I see in other reviews some had mentioned location and I agree - easy to park the rental car, walk to city center or to the bay side of Penzance. The street is tree-lined and I imagine that it is so beautiful in the fall. The breakfast was ok, but they didn't have gluten-free items. We bought gluten free bread at a grocery store which they gladly toasted for us in the morning. Overall, was a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend the Dunedin!

Room Tip: The Rose Room was spacious and delicately decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#8 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunedin Guest House

Property: The Dunedin Guest House
Address: Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunedin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin is a large Victorian house dating from 1886 and is AA 4-Star rated, it has 8 tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with modern en-suite shower, wash basin and WC together with Free-view digital colour TV, DVD player, radio alarm, hair dryer, cooling fan and tea/coffee making facilities.The Dunedin is situated in a wide and tree-lined avenue leading to the seafront, with its long promenade and sheltered bay and there is unrestricted parking on both sides and for most of Alexandra Road and the adjoining roads.Situated on the edge of town, but within a few short minutes walk of the centre and the seafront, Dunedin is in the ideal position to visit all the many and reasonably priced pubs, restaurants and other attractions in Penzance. Breakfast is served in our bright and airy dining room, which is situated on the ground floor, and there is a selection of cereals, chilled fruit juices and segments and cooked to order main courses to suit a variety of tastes and preferences.We offer our Guests free and unrestricted access to the Internet via our BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband WIFI, please ensure your laptop has a radio card, a firewall and appropriate virus protection. BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband is available 24 hours a day and please inquire for details of the password to access the network. Here we pride ourselves on our welcoming atmosphere and, should you decide on a holiday or a short break with us, we will certainly do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Please note that the Dunedin is totally non-smoking. Payment: We do not have a credit/debit card facility and therefore do not make a charge for this. We do accept Sterling cheques, traveller's cheques, cash or BACS. Please note, we do not accept children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Hotel Penzance
The Dunedin Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing