We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #17 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights during easter holidays. A very pleasant stay as the rooms were quite clean, ample free parking space right outside the guest house and free wi-fi as well. The non-vegetarian option for breakfast is good too. Walking distance to the town centre and some great sea food restaurants. Would definitely choose to stay here again if we are in cornwall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinJB, Owner at The Dunedin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Pleasant B and B in a good position in Penzance. Very close to the promenade and the harbour.
Quiet and clean bedroom with comfortable beds. Tasty breakfast with good choice. The proprietors are friendly and helpful.
Penzance is lovely and there is plenty to do and lots of very good restaurants nearby. Great.

Room Tip: we stayed with our teenaged daughter in the triple suite which gave her a bit of privacy. She also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 27Cornishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinJB, Owner at The Dunedin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Your review and scoring is very much appreciated and, although you did not make mention of it, we have discovered the fault with the shower and have replaced it, thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We found the proprietors very friendly and pro-actively helpful.

The house is clean and well maintained. Our room, the dining room and lounge are all tastefully furnished.

Breakfast was cooked to order and there was a wide and generous selection of food to choose from.

We were in Penzance for a wedding and would certainly consider The Dunedin if we visit the area again.

Terry & Evelyn Duffy
Hanworth Park, Middlesex

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank duffy_terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinJB, Owner at The Dunedin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The house looks really nice, the bedrooms are nice, the breakfast is good, there is WiFi and all the other must-haves are completely fulfilled! On top of this, the hosts are extremely supporting!
If you have questions about what to do, where to go, to eat or even to repair your camera, they always try to find something which fits to you. You really feel welcomed at there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 793renem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunedinJB, Owner at The Dunedin Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Rene,
Thank you for your very generous review and scoring. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.
Best Regards,
John & Linda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Not exactly in the main hub of town but only a short walk to the waterfront and we were able to park nearby on the street for free. We stayed in Room 8 at the back on the ground floor and whilst it didn't have a view it had a pleasant outlook over the garden and flowers in planters. The bed was comfortable, the room very clean with everything in A1 condition although the style was a little dated. Great water pressure in the shower. Breakfast was only between 8am and 9am in the basement and offered a good selection of juice and cereal plus the option for the "hearty" cooked breakfast. We didn't realize when we booked that this guest house doesn't take credit or debit cards so we had to find a branch of the HSBC to withdraw cash (we'd forgotten the PIN on our UK account) to pay the account which is surprising and a little annoying in today's commercial world. Overall, a pleasant and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Room 8 at the back, ground floor was comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Dunedin was most welcoming, with friendly and helpful hosts. The bedrooms and beds were very comfortable, and the breakfasts were great! It might not be suitable for someone with a problem with stairs - there are ground-floor bedrooms, but there are several steps up to the front door and a flight of stairs down to the dining-room. These, however, are no problem for a reasonably able-bodied person : I would certainly stay there again, and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A great place to be based as we spent a few days exploring this wonderful part of the world. A good 10-15 min walk from the centre of Penzance - depending on age and energy! Great hosts who pointed out things to see and do and if you use the bus to get around - highly recommended - it leaves at the end of the street. Breakfast was excellent - and set us up for the day. Friendly and great value.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
499 reviews
0 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#6 of 82 in Penzance
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 82 in Penzance
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shoreline Guest House
The Shoreline Guest House
#60 of 82 in Penzance
118 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunedin Guest House

Address: Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £73 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunedin Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin is a large Victorian house dating from 1886 and is AA 4-Star rated, it has 8 tastefully furnished bedrooms, each with modern en-suite shower, wash basin and WC together with Free-view digital colour TV, DVD player, radio alarm, hair dryer, cooling fan and tea/coffee making facilities.The Dunedin is situated in a wide and tree-lined avenue leading to the seafront, with its long promenade and sheltered bay and there is unrestricted parking on both sides and for most of Alexandra Road and the adjoining roads.Situated on the edge of town, but within a few short minutes walk of the centre and the seafront, Dunedin is in the ideal position to visit all the many and reasonably priced pubs, restaurants and other attractions in Penzance. Breakfast is served in our bright and airy dining room, which is situated on the ground floor, and there is a selection of cereals, chilled fruit juices and segments and cooked to order main courses to suit a variety of tastes and preferences.We offer our Guests free and unrestricted access to the Internet via our BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband WIFI, please ensure your laptop has a radio card, a firewall and appropriate virus protection. BT Infinity Super-fast Broadband is available 24 hours a day and please inquire for details of the password to access the network. Here we pride ourselves on our welcoming atmosphere and, should you decide on a holiday or a short break with us, we will certainly do our best to make your stay an enjoyable one. Please note that the Dunedin is totally non-smoking. Payment: We do not have a credit/debit card facility and therefore do not make a charge for this. We do accept Sterling cheques, traveller's cheques, cash or BACS. Please note, we do not accept children under 12 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Hotel Penzance
The Dunedin Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing