We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Chy-an-Mor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chy-an-Mor
Ranked #1 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent three nights at the Chy-an-Mor. Very nice innkeepers, delicious breakfast and a lovely interior. Penzance is an ideal place to stay with lots of pubs and restaurants for the evening and very good public transport to all attractions in the area ( St. Ives, Minack, etc.).

Christopher & Stefanie

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We booked in for one night at Chy-An-Mor as a stopover on the way to the Scilly isles rather last minute for one room and car parking while in the Scillies.

Our room was a beautifully decorated double with a sea view. It had a gorgeous iron bedstand and a fabulous large Georgian sash window and window seat. The en-suite shower room was great with lovely posh looking toiletries provided.

The breakfast was lovely, we both had full english and my partner had a muffin that he seemed to enjoy!

Louise was really friendly and helpful. She pointed us in the direction of the Admiral Bimbow for dinner which was curious, quaint and honestly one of the best burgers I have ever eaten (I'll save that for another review).

The Chy-An-Mor guesthouse was not the most expensive b&b of our trip but it absolutely was one of the nicest. Lovely setting, fab room and view, plus dead handy for the Scillionian ferry.

Would stay again and will recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimbler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Chy an Mor for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We wished we could have stayed for longer. Firstly our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculate. The BnB had a great atmosphere and feel about it. The hospitality and service from Louise was great and her warm, welcoming manner made us feel at great ease. Nothing was too much trouble for her and the information she provided about the local area was excellent. The breakfast was wonderfully presented and huge range of choice for every taste. Louise and Richard obviously put a lot of thought into providing a great service and making you feel comfortable.

Perfect location for the various activities, beaches, villages and restaurants. Also they provide private parking for all guests which is a great bonus.

Would highly recommend staying here if you get the chance as you'll definitely enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Chy-an-Mor for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We were warmly greeted by Louise and enjoyed some lovely tea and muffins in the sunny garden! Louise was also very thoughtful and managed to keep us in the same room for the whole 3 nights, as when I was making a booking I may have needed to stay in the queen room and for 1 night and the king room for 2 nights but she sorted out the logistics so a BIG THANK YOU for that!!

We stayed in room 3 and it had a lovely sea view. The room was nicely furnished, but the shower room was a bit of a tight squeeze. There's parking right outside which is handy. The breakfast is great and my favorite was definitely the salmon and scrambled eggs with clotted cream muffin! Wow best scrambled eggs EVER! cooked just perfect and was lovely and moist! Thanks Richard!

The only reason that I didn't give Chy-an-Mor an excellent rating was that as the room is situated on the upper ground floor, I did hear people coming in and out of the front doors, but to be fair, there are notices asking guests to try and not slam the doors and I am a light sleeper so it did affect my sleep slightly.

Overall I think Chy-an-Mor is an excellent B&B to stay in and what makes this place special is all the little touches that Louise and Richard put in. Also Louise please don't stop baking your lovely muffins! I assure you there are people who really appreciate them! (like me! hehe) I definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but I'll try and book a room on the upper floors next time. My only concern is that Chy-an-Mor may get too popular for us to book next time as it's such a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filkitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Chy-an-Mor before and after our trip to the Isles of Scilly as it is an excellent location for catching the ferry. The rooms were small but we had a sea view on our first night and they are clean and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was home cooked and delicious and both Louise and Richard very warm and welcoming. They even allowed us to leave our bags as our train home didn't leave until late afternoon. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie_sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Louise & Richard, a big thank you for all your effort to make my husband's birthday special. We loved the B&B and it was wonderful to see a young couple 'live the dream' and run a very successful business. After a visit to the stunning Minack theatre for an afternoon show, which was brilliant, thank you for recommending The Bakehouse for the evening birthday meal, it was also run by a young couple and it was an excellent choice. Having you as a base in Penzance was perfect for us to visit nearby places of St Michael's Mount, Mousehole, Newlyn and we even took a 20 minute flight on a 10 seater plane to St Marys on the Isles of Scilly where we manage to also see Tresco before returning by boat (2 1/2 hours) so best of both worlds. All in all a sunny & memorable trip for us especially the very comfortable Chy an Mor (which I understand means House of Sea in Cornish - very aptly named as you overlook the sea). THANK YOU.
Linda & Howard Evans ( West Sussex)

Room Tip: We stayed at the top of this lovely regency house in room 9 which had a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were going to a wedding in St Ives but thought we'd go down a day earlier and found Chy-an-Mor on the web. We only stayed the one night, 9 August 2013, but nevertheless we felt as if we were there for the week - and wished we had been!

Room was spotless, extremely comfortable and breakfast was out of this world!
Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 82 in Penzance
361 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 82 in Penzance
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 82 in Penzance
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-an-Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-an-Mor

Address: 15 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are very few hotels in Penzance. However we are one of the lovest quality guest houses located in a premier sea facing terrace in West Cornwall. A fabulous Regent grade II listed guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodatiion with fantastic sea views, plenty of private parking, guest lounge, south-facing garden and beautiful newly decorated en-suite rooms. A very large choice of breakfast using local or homemade products all served in a bright and spacious dining room. Queen and proper king bedded rooms available. Located in a quiet area of Penzance, Cornwall, yet close to good restaurants, inns, galleries, Isle of Scilly ferry, with long stay parking available here. Beauty treatments and free Wifi too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy An Mor Hotel Penzance
Chy-An-Mor Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing