We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B/convenient location”
Review of Chy-an-Mor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chy-an-Mor
Ranked #1 of 84 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had two 2 night stays at Chy-an-Mor either side of a week on the Isles of Scilly. Chy-an-Mor is just a few minutes walk from the Ferry terminal and for £4 a day you can leave your car in Chy-an-Mor's car park. It is also just a very short walk from the Promenade, and there are plenty of
pubs, restaurants and the shopping centre within easy walking distance.
We received a very warm welcome from Louise and Richard, with tea and home made muffins in the lounge. Our room for the first two nights was on the first floor and had a very large and comfortable bed. Everything you need was in the room. The shower room was a bit small but the shower was easy to use.
For our second two nights we were on the ground floor. This room was smaller with a smaller bed, but was still very comfortable.
Breakfasts were excellent, with a good choice of cooked food, and I agree with Ichibo that the scrambled eggs are the best I've ever tasted!
Everything was spotless, Louise and Richard clearly love running their B&B and do everything they can to make everyone's stay comfortable and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thank you Richard and Louise for making our three day stay last week so enjoyable. All the compliments in other guests' reviews are truly well-deserved in terms of welcome, comfort, breakfasts, hospitality, cleanliness, location, views, peace and quiet and facilities. The guest sitting room and binoculars in our room on the second floor were much appreciated touches. Strongly recommended. John and Christine

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here many years ago and it was fine, but nothing special. Under Richard and Louise's ownership it is now very special! Beautifully decorated throughout with lots of thoughtful touches, a very comfy bed, and delicious breakfast. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I spent 4 days in Penzance and I couldn't have picked a nicer B & B to stay in. Louise is ever so friendly and showed me to the coziest room up in the eves. All done out in white, it had been recently refurbished and had the most wonderful view over the sea to Mousehole. A very thoughtful touch was the pair of binoculars by the window. The breakfast, cooked by Louise's husband, Richard, was delicious and he even managed a friendly chat after breakfast. I had a peek in some of the other rooms while they were being cleaned and it is clear that you would be spoiled for choice. There is a lovely large guests lounge on the ground floor, but the rooms are so nice, you will probably not want to leave them! The B & B is perfectly placed to walk to the shops and restaurants, as well as the bus and train station. I will definitely be back next summer!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very comfortable, with most hospitable host and hostess, and in a prime position. The only obstacle standing in the way of a fifth star is the configuration of our room which meant (no doubt unavoidably) that you had to get out of the en suite toilet before washing your hands in the separately located washbasin. Otherwise, faultless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyR438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were en-route to fly to Tresco on the Isles of Scilly and due to weather problems the planes could not fly from Exeter and we found ourselves very unexpectedly stranded in Penzance waiting for the boat - very tired and frazzled after a very long and frustrating day of travelling. After frantically ringing around a few B&Bs we found this one, and very glad we did. Richard and Louise were both very welcoming, and the position was super for getting the boat to St. Marys - just across the road. Very handy for the town which was right behind and a 5 minute walk to nice pubs and restaurants. This is a large 4 floor victorian house with high ceilings The place was super clean and nice soft white bedding and towels - and obviously well cared for. Its a traditional b&b not a boutique hotel but very pleasant. The decor was very simple- white bedrooms with minimal nautical themes , and then quite traditional but not fussy, in the public areas - overall very restful. Rooms were well equipped and breakfast was very good. We had a top floor room which was very quiet and cosy with a lovely sea view.

Overall a lovely surprise and good value, and if like us you were trying to get to Tresco then a very good stopping point. Would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we would both recommend this bed and breakfast to anybody visiting this area of Cornwall. The personal touch is second to none and both hosts, Richard and Louise were welcoming and provided tea and homemade cakes on our arrival. There were so many small touches that made us feel at home too. Very comfortable and beautifully decorated room, overlooking the sea view plus en suite and all cleaned to an excellent standard each day. Tea and coffee was always well stocked up and biscuits! Breakfast was always well presented and cooked fresh to perfection at a time suited to you with a wide variety of choice. all in all i would sum up our stay as absolutely perfect and would award 5 out of 5 stars. Totally well deserved to a lovely couple who made our whole stay memorable. Definitely planning a return trip. Sharron n Bill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharronpaug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 3 in Penzance
843 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
59 reviews
0 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#2 of 84 in Penzance
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 84 in Penzance
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 84 in Penzance
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 84 in Penzance
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-an-Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-an-Mor

Address: 15 Regent Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are very few hotels in Penzance. However we are one of the lovest quality guest houses located in a premier sea facing terrace in West Cornwall. A fabulous Regent grade II listed guest house offering bed and breakfast accommodatiion with fantastic sea views, plenty of private parking, guest lounge, south-facing garden and beautiful newly decorated en-suite rooms. A very large choice of breakfast using local or homemade products all served in a bright and spacious dining room. Queen and proper king bedded rooms available. Located in a quiet area of Penzance, Cornwall, yet close to good restaurants, inns, galleries, Isle of Scilly ferry, with long stay parking available here. Beauty treatments and free Wifi too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chy An Mor Hotel Penzance
Chy-An-Mor Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing