We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable guesthouse”

Halcyon Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halcyon Guest House
Ranked #46 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Queensland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We actually ended up staying in Penzance as a fall back. I had wanted to stay in St Ives but when three B&B's I contacted in St Ives did not even have the courtesy to reply and others seemed to have difficulty with parking or were above our budget, we settled for Halcyon in Penzance.
We were really glad we did. My emails re booking were answered promptly and courteously, the price was right and we were impressed by previous reviews on Trip Advisor.
We found Halcyon to be ideally located for what we wanted to do. It was within easy driving distance of the Minack Theatre, Lands End and the cute village of Marazion from which St. Michael's Mount can be accessed. In fact we walked across the causeway to St. Michaels one evening when the tide was out.
The guesthouse is also close to the local train and bus station so we could leave our car at Halcyon in one of their free, convenient parking spaces and catch the "Hop-on Hop-off" Bus which took us on a very scenic route all around the South Cornwall Coast for the day. We were able to Hop Off at St Ives and spent 4 hours exploring the fascinating village of St Ives without having to worry about negotiating the impossibly narrow streets and parking our car. It worked out really well for us.
Halcyon is an older type Guesthouse and the rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean at an affordable rate. Pat and Bob are lovely hosts and make their guests very welcome. They have been doing it for 20 years so are well versed in making their guests happy and comfortable. We appreciated their advice on where to go and what to see. It was Pat who suggested we drive to Lands End to watch the sun set. What a truly great experience!
Breakfasts are very tasty and Pat will organise a continental breakfast for you if you want to leave earlier than the usual breakfast time of 8.30am. We were very happy that we chose Halcyon for our stay in South Cornwall.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms - get in early if you want a room with a view of St Michaels Mount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

A friend and I stayed here 5 days in June 2012 and chose it based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was a delightful stay in a spotless, comfortable and spacious room with a great view of St Michael's Mount. The guesthouse has free car parking and is just a stroll from Penzance, but what made our visit exceptional were Pat and Bob.
Breakfast was shared with Bob's humour and helpful tips on the day's activities. Pat is a sweetie who offered me her waterproof trousers one bleak day we were walking to Marazion - and they were much appreciated!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Halcyon to anyone visiting Penzance and would love to go back and see Pat and Bob again.Thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travels707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed with friends in early May, our friends had stayed here before and highly recommended it. They were right to - Pat & Bob are amazing hosts with a natural ability to make you feel immediately welcome. Bob is very entertaining and kept us amused during our stay. The rooms are clean and comfy with lots of tea and coffee (and biscuits!). We would not hesitate in returning or recommending Halcyon at all !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in September ,and it was absolutely excellent,lovely breakfast ,comfy beds in a very clean and tidy guest house with free parking.Our hosts were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.Very easy for the bus and rail connections if you dont want to use your car.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We've just got home from a perfect short break in Penzance, and I can't wait to write my review, as we chose Halcyon based upon tripadvisor reviews. Thanks everyone for not keeping this gem to yourselves! Pat and Bob were perfect hosts, so welcoming, helpful and friendly. Nobody does it better! We found the location to be ideal for us as we were close to the town, the beach and the heliport, less than 10 mins walk to each. Halcyon was quiet and superbly clean, the breakfasts lavish, the service second to none. A truly exceptional experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laisydaisy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful, the breakfasts are delicious and the view of St Michael's Mount from the bedroom window was awesome.

There is free parking available, which is great. It's a longish walk into Penzance for shopping or dinner as there are no restaurants or shops nearby, but that helps get rid of the extra calories from the cooked breakfast!

The hosts were fantastic - lots of helpful advice about the best way to get to the places we wanted to see, as well as suggestions of places we hadn't thought about.

The property only has 3 rooms, so you really feel like one of the family. We really loved our few days here, and would certainly recommend it to others.

Incidentally, a great place for dinner is The Turk's Head in Penzance - we ended up eating here on each of the 3 days we were here!!!

Room Tip: The room overlooking Mount's Bay has a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Went to Cornwall for the first time with my best friend. First thought was where to stay? Found this b&b on the Internet and was not disappointed.. It was a pleasure to stay.
Very clean and a warm, friendly atmosphere enhanced the house.
It is very close to the train/bus station, the beach, St Michaels Mount, all within walking distance. Pat and Bob were also very helpful with any information. Mentioned once that we wouldn´t be there for breakfast the next day and were immediately offered a breakfast tray.
Would recommend any time.
I don´t think any other b&b can top!
Thank-you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Royal
Mount Royal
#34 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 82 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 82 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 82 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Guest House

Property: Halcyon Guest House
Address: 6 Chyandour Square, Penzance TR18 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon is a small friendly Bed and Breakfast. Room Tariff from £75 per night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halcyon Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing