We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky, lucky choice”

Halcyon Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halcyon Guest House
Ranked #51 of 82 Penzance B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived in Penzance without any accommodation booked and were so lucky to find this little gem of a place with perfect hosts, free parking and an easy walk to the main shopping and eating area of Penzance. We were able to have a lovely room at the front of the house that was squeaky clean and very comfortable. Th e breakfast was great and our hosts were a wealth of information on the area. I'd love to go back one day.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have just returned to our home in Bristol, after another quick break in Cornwall. We like Penzance and try to stay at the Halcyon Guest House, at Chyandour, in Penzance. We have stayed here many times in the past and have never found fault. No change this time. We only stayed for 4 days. On arrival we were met at the front door by Pat and Bob Ayotte. Pat and Bob always welcome their guest's as if they are family, they help with the luggage, and let you settle in. Any thing you need is at hand. The room is allways clean, tidy, and well presented. Local books of interesting places to visit, to the best resterants in the area are left for you to read at your leasure. At breakfast Bob raelly comes into his own. No matter were the guests come from he will hold conversation with knowledge of the visitors country, makes a few light jokes and helping them relax and settle in. Pat also will spend time with the guests while Bob is looking after the kitchen. They work in tandem with each other so well, after all, they have been doing this for 33 years and leave no stone unturned making your stay a memerable one. After all said and done, were you stay is also part of your holiday or quick break. And believe me when i say, you will want to return and stay again

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have great views across mounts bay.One of these is the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at this B&B for two nights. The owners were extremely helpful, friendly and Bob was very funny, a great raconteur. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a a large room with a fantastic view The B&B was spotless and near to train and bus stations. Parking was available.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty tea and coffee. Would highly recommend if visiting this area.

Room Tip: W£hen booking as for the room with a view of St. Michael's Mount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, fantastic service,good food and plenty of it,clean comfortable room . A lovely quiet spot yet near to bus,train and shops . Pat and Bob made us feel very welcome . We would recomend them whole heartedly and plan to return next year .Nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlywhirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We actually ended up staying in Penzance as a fall back. I had wanted to stay in St Ives but when three B&B's I contacted in St Ives did not even have the courtesy to reply and others seemed to have difficulty with parking or were above our budget, we settled for Halcyon in Penzance.
We were really glad we did. My emails re booking were answered promptly and courteously, the price was right and we were impressed by previous reviews on Trip Advisor.
We found Halcyon to be ideally located for what we wanted to do. It was within easy driving distance of the Minack Theatre, Lands End and the cute village of Marazion from which St. Michael's Mount can be accessed. In fact we walked across the causeway to St. Michaels one evening when the tide was out.
The guesthouse is also close to the local train and bus station so we could leave our car at Halcyon in one of their free, convenient parking spaces and catch the "Hop-on Hop-off" Bus which took us on a very scenic route all around the South Cornwall Coast for the day. We were able to Hop Off at St Ives and spent 4 hours exploring the fascinating village of St Ives without having to worry about negotiating the impossibly narrow streets and parking our car. It worked out really well for us.
Halcyon is an older type Guesthouse and the rooms are comfortable, quiet and clean at an affordable rate. Pat and Bob are lovely hosts and make their guests very welcome. They have been doing it for 20 years so are well versed in making their guests happy and comfortable. We appreciated their advice on where to go and what to see. It was Pat who suggested we drive to Lands End to watch the sun set. What a truly great experience!
Breakfasts are very tasty and Pat will organise a continental breakfast for you if you want to leave earlier than the usual breakfast time of 8.30am. We were very happy that we chose Halcyon for our stay in South Cornwall.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms - get in early if you want a room with a view of St Michaels Mount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martyQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A friend and I stayed here 5 days in June 2012 and chose it based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was a delightful stay in a spotless, comfortable and spacious room with a great view of St Michael's Mount. The guesthouse has free car parking and is just a stroll from Penzance, but what made our visit exceptional were Pat and Bob.
Breakfast was shared with Bob's humour and helpful tips on the day's activities. Pat is a sweetie who offered me her waterproof trousers one bleak day we were walking to Marazion - and they were much appreciated!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Halcyon to anyone visiting Penzance and would love to go back and see Pat and Bob again.Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed with friends in early May, our friends had stayed here before and highly recommended it. They were right to - Pat & Bob are amazing hosts with a natural ability to make you feel immediately welcome. Bob is very entertaining and kept us amused during our stay. The rooms are clean and comfy with lots of tea and coffee (and biscuits!). We would not hesitate in returning or recommending Halcyon at all !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sungil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
4.6 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
837 reviews
0 mi away
The Coldstreamer Inn
The Coldstreamer Inn
#1 of 1 in Gulval
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
68 reviews
1 mi away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#56 of 82 in Penzance
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#76 of 82 in Penzance
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Guest House

Address: 6 Chyandour Square, Penzance TR18 3LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range: £35 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon is a small friendly Bed and Breakfast. Room Tariff from £75 per night 5* recommendations from Trip Advisor users😄 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Halcyon Guest House Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing