We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halcyon Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Penzance
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Penzance(Penzance)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazion Hotel(Marazion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chymorvah Hotel(Marazion)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boskerris Hotel(Carbis Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
49
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb blocal areapatbobguestsbedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

If you like the traditional, this is for you. Can't fault the cleanliness and friendliness, but not really to my taste as I like the more modern style and found the decor a bit 'fussy', plus I prefer to chose my own cereal and fruit juice from a buffet at breakfast. Easy to find, with parking, friendly hosts, so no major issues, just not for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suenam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

After reading the reviews here, I was, I guess, a little leet down with the size of Room 4. More than adequate. Very quiet on the back side of the house. I guess I was expecting something more than a double bed, comfortable but a tad hard for us...nice pillows though! The closet-sized bath (with toilet and shower) was very small and the basin taking up needed room in the bedroom. Virtually no shelf space and no counter at all.
Breakfasts are wonderful. A nice menu with lots of choices and excellent quality. Bob & Pat are very busy (even in mid-september) but take time at breakfast to make sure everyone is very comforbable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just got back from a wonderful holiday touring around Cornwall. we stayed with Bob and Pat for 2 nights, We had a fabulous room with an amazing view towards St. Michael's Mount.

Pat and Bob made us feel very welcome and suggested places we hadn't thought about to visit. Thank you both so much wish we could of stayed longer!! and the weather was wonderful
all week!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl50Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived in Penzance without any accommodation booked and were so lucky to find this little gem of a place with perfect hosts, free parking and an easy walk to the main shopping and eating area of Penzance. We were able to have a lovely room at the front of the house that was squeaky clean and very comfortable. Th e breakfast was great and our hosts were a wealth of information on the area. I'd love to go back one day.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have just returned to our home in Bristol, after another quick break in Cornwall. We like Penzance and try to stay at the Halcyon Guest House, at Chyandour, in Penzance. We have stayed here many times in the past and have never found fault. No change this time. We only stayed for 4 days. On arrival we were met at the front door by Pat and Bob Ayotte. Pat and Bob always welcome their guest's as if they are family, they help with the luggage, and let you settle in. Any thing you need is at hand. The room is allways clean, tidy, and well presented. Local books of interesting places to visit, to the best resterants in the area are left for you to read at your leasure. At breakfast Bob raelly comes into his own. No matter were the guests come from he will hold conversation with knowledge of the visitors country, makes a few light jokes and helping them relax and settle in. Pat also will spend time with the guests while Bob is looking after the kitchen. They work in tandem with each other so well, after all, they have been doing this for 33 years and leave no stone unturned making your stay a memerable one. After all said and done, were you stay is also part of your holiday or quick break. And believe me when i say, you will want to return and stay again

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have great views across mounts bay.One of these is the family room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews