We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our time at the Chiverton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chiverton Guest House B&B
Ranked #28 of 83 Penzance B&B and Inns
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved our time at the Chiverton”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Alan and Sally helped to make our holiday great with their warm and friendly hospitality. The room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of tea and milk etc ( I like). Sally's breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety and beautifully cooked. Alan was very informative and helpful with places to go and places to eat. We are looking forward to further visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The good things:
Alan and Sally are friendly, the rooms are quite clean, wifi worked well, breakfast selection was good, coffee & tea in the room, and the price was quite reasonable. (We paid 60 GBP for 2 people in a double).

The disappointing:
Really tiny rooms, although nicely put together. No shampoo, no shower soap (there was a pump with hand soap at the sink). Breakfast seating only for 30 minutes! (8 to 8:30).

Room Tip: If you care about wifi in your room, ask for one lower down. (We also used the breakfast room for wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingWriter55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My relative and I stayed for 3 nights recently - both rooms were decorated to a high standard and comfortable. And the bed had a very good mattress! Alan was very welcoming and helpful in providing local information, and a good breakfast was efficiently served every morning between 8 and 8.30. The double room on the top floor I had really was small but I was made aware of this on booking and the rates were very competitive. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickrusselluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at Chiverton Guest House B&B. Alan and Sally made myself and my partner feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The Breakfasts are lovely and very filling. Alan is full of hints and tips regarding places of interest to visit and always gives good advice on where you are thinking of visiting that day. This was a very clean and cosy bed and breakfast and we felt at home here. We will definately think of staying here again when we return to Penzance. Fab!!!!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy and had everything we needed for out stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights in July 2010 and we are happy to recomend it to anybody. Good location, close to bars and restaurants, on- street parking-sometimes hard to find space close to b&b but many streets nearby to park. The room was very clean, good size. Breakfast very tasty, good choice of fresh fruits, cereals and juices, nicely served. The hosts were friendly, gave interesting suggestions on what to see. It wasn`t the cheapest but definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights recently: our room and ensuite facilities were comfortable and immaculately clean. The vegetarian breakfast was excellent - veggie sausages were not on the menu, but were cheerfully provided for us on request. Alan was friendly and helpful to us and all the other guests, without being intrusive. He provided good information about how to get around the local area as we were travelling by public transport. Location is excellent, just a couple of minutes from the seafront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham city centre
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

from the moment we entered the house to the minute we left. could not fault anything at all.
the room was immaculate. the bathroom sparkling like nobody had stayed there before us.
breakfast amazing. filled us up for hours.
tv channels were set.
enough tea/coffee/milk for a day not just an evening. bottle opener& two glasses ready for use.

what i actually liked the most is that alan always used your name, from when we walked in he knew who we were and was always cheerful& bubbly & so very helpful.

Room Tip: our room was small but perfect with a good open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#18 of 83 in Penzance
143 reviews
1.1 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#5 of 83 in Penzance
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 83 in Penzance
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Longboat Inn
The Longboat Inn
#44 of 83 in Penzance
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#7 of 83 in Penzance
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiverton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiverton Guest House B&B

Property: Chiverton Guest House B&B
Address: 9 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chiverton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiverton Guest House Hotel Penzance
Chiverton Guest House Bed And Breakfast
Chiverton Guest House B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing