We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - best breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chiverton Guest House B&B
Ranked #29 of 81 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
1 review
“Great B&B - best breakfast!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Chiverton house for a few days for our honeymoon.
We've not been in a b&b for years, and things have changed so much.
It was a great location. The breakfast was amazing, lots of choice.
Wifi was available, the rooms were modern and very clean. Our hosts were very welcoming and also really helpful. we would definately stay here again when we visit Penzance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    25
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Chiverton House is a great hotel with wonderful breakfasts that you can choose from. The only problem I had was the fact that it said free wi-fi and a connection was almost non-existent on the second floor where we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Continued our run of fantastic B&Bs across Devon and Cornwall by staying at "Alan and Sally's house" (Chiverton) for 3 nights.

The moment you step in you feel at home here, NIce room, well appointed, WIFI, std coffee and tea making in room etc. and a comfy bed.

Full English breakfast as per your request each evening so that Sally can prepare for the morning cook up. Great selection. And very family friendly.

As others have said Alan has extensive local knowledge and will impart his gems of local wisdom when appropriate.

An all round great place, Nicely positioned about 20 min walk along the promenade to the centre of Penzance.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heygman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a double and family room as we were attending a family wedding. Small B &B that really looks after its guests well. Lovely choice of breakfast options with fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereals and full cooked breakfast. The proprietors are very friendly and learn all guests names so make everyone feel welcome and valued, very sincere couple who take pride in offering a good service.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Exactly what you'd hope for in a B&B. Clean, hearty breakfasts, and excellent hosts. The rooms are small, and there is no elevator, but if you expect either of these, you haven't done much research! Our room had 3 beds and was on the top floor, so we did a bit of lifting to get the suitcases upstairs. Once there, the room was cozy and the bathroom was very small but functional and spotless. Breakfasts were hearty and tasty each morning, and Alan made great suggestions for dining later in the day. Nothing but good things to say about our visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAM_Doubler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I booked a weekend away for myself and my boyfriend and was dubious about a B&B as I have always stayed in a hotel...but I cannot rave enough about Sally and Alan! There have been many comments about the rooms being on the small side, however the room we stayed in had what we needed for a 3 night stay...wardrobe, double bed (which was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!), bedside cabinets and a dresser. The en suite may have been small but it was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the B&B. I particularly liked the supply of cotton wool and cotton buds! The bedroom, as well of the rest of the house that I saw, was very tastefully decorated.
Sally and Alan were both very warm and friendly and gave great hints and tips about local places of interest. Sally's breakfasts were out of this world, beautifully cooked and with a wide range of choice.
I will definitely return to this little jewel!:)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerlover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Alan and Sally helped to make our holiday great with their warm and friendly hospitality. The room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of tea and milk etc ( I like). Sally's breakfasts were excellent with plenty of variety and beautifully cooked. Alan was very informative and helpful with places to go and places to eat. We are looking forward to further visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lynwood Guest House
The Lynwood Guest House
#40 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Afton
Glen Afton
#30 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Con Amore
Con Amore
#18 of 81 in Penzance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dunedin Guest House
The Dunedin Guest House
#16 of 81 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiverton Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiverton Guest House B&B

Property: Chiverton Guest House B&B
Address: 9 Mennaye Road, Penzance TR18 4NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chiverton Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiverton Guest House Hotel Penzance
Chiverton Guest House Bed And Breakfast
Chiverton Guest House B&B Penzance, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing