We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good quality.”
other travellers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
88puffin
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good quality.”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Works for a traveller with a car. There is a reserved parking space.
Spacious for one or two persons. Can sleep three.
Lots of light. Friendly owners, live close by.
In a residential area of Penzance, but transportation to main attractions is easy with car.
That worked.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashad63
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely sunny B&B”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My partner Andrew booked for us to stay in Cornwall for my birthday in June. We stayed for 4 nights. Before we stayed were told the key code and everything was ready for us when we arrived on the Monday afternoon . Fresh towels,tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries in the bathroom. There was a fridge, plates and a dinning table to sit at for breakfast. The room was lovely and bright and the bed was comfy. Kate had left leaflets of places to visit in the surrounding area and the wifi code and her mobile number. When we met Kate the following morning (she had arranged a suitable time to drop of breakfast ) she was such a lovely lady and the continental breakfast each morning was so yummy. Kate made our stay so comfortable she was able to advise us on nice places to visit and couldn't have done more to make our stay comfortable. I would just like to say at this point there was everything you needed dishes were washed and fresh milk put back in the fridge daily. Kate thank you for such a lovely stay, I hope we can come back one day as we fell in love with Cornwall and loved having a cosy base from which to explore!:) would recommend this B&B to anyone with high standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFromE...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bright, clean, lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The School Room is a lovely bright, clean and stylish place to stay located in Heamoor, on the outskirts of Penzance. It's one huge open room as bedroom and eating area. Bright, light and airy.
Very close by is a convenience store and a Fish & Chip shop (open Wednesday-Saturday). Just up the road is a baker, another convenience store and a pub (Sportsmans Arms).
Town centre is an easy 20 minute walk, or if you prefer, take the 10 or 10A bus or a taxi.
Continental breakfast is provided fresh, with hot pastries, in a basket each morning by Kate, our friendly landlady.
We looked at several tired, run-down town-centre hotels and decided this was MUCH nicer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: large bright space
Liked least: 20 minute walk into town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenrefai...
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the School Room. The room was spacious and private with a delicious breakfast delivered in a basket to our door every morning. We hope to visit again some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The privacy.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicandNin...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful in beautiful village”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My daughter and I were looking for a base for a long weekend stay in the Penzance area - what a lovely find!!
Simple, but comfortable and very clean accommodation, with delicious breakfasts hand delivered every morning at requested time - we had some early starts due to busy planned weekend.
We are planning to return to this area same time next year and are highly likely to re-book this accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, very clean and very pretty!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Lovely to meet you and hope you return glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLFlower
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at The School Room. The bedroom is large, bright and airy with character, everything was clean and the ensuite shower was good! Kate was friendly and we enjoyed our continental breakfast in the mornings. It's a perfect base for visiting St Michael's Mount and Minack Theatre which are a short drive away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly H
2 reviews
“Beautiful stay in Penzance”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The School Room is the best choice for accommodation in Penzance; nestled just outside of the city centre, friendly hosts, private lodging, quaint surroundings. I had an amazing stay, and am hoping to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing